Smartlook

Smartlook

Qualitative analytics for websites and mobile apps

4.7/5 (90 reviews)

Smartlook Overview

Smartlook is a qualitative analytics solution for web and mobile helping over 200,000 businesses of all sizes and industries answer the “whys” behind users’ actions — why do users churn, or why aren’t they using a feature, or why are they skipping onboarding? Now you can eliminate the guesswork.

With a unique feature set, Smartlook gives you a way to finally understand user behavior at the micro level. Always-on visitor recordings show you what every last visitor does on your website or app, and heatmaps give you mass data about where most people click and scroll. Automatic event tracking lets you know how (and how often) your visitors do specific things, while conversion funnels take those events and show you how much success you're having with conversions.

Started in 2016, Smartlook has grown into a complete solution for qualitative analytics, making guesswork a thing of the past. Stop wondering why, and start getting answers today.

Pricing

Starting from
€19,00/month
Pricing options
Free Trial
Free
Subscription
Value for money

Devices

Business size

S
M
L

Markets

Asia, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China and 5 others, Europe, Germany, India, Japan, Latin America

Supported Languages

Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, French and 10 others, German, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, Ukrainian

Smartlook Reviews

Overall rating
4.7/5
96% positive reviews
67
Excellent
19
Very good
3
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
Cynthia R.

Smartlooked for awhile now

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/04/14
Review Source: Capterra

Smartlook has given time management a new definition. It allows us to save tremendous time and work more efficiently.

Pros

So we've been using Smartlook for some time now and I always thought it was a decent program. Having just gone through an entire tax season with almost every call utilizing this tool, it deserves a second view so to speak. Smartlook allows tech support or agents (in my company) to share screens with their customers. We can see their mouse movements, help them to navigate through the various options and features and troubleshoot errors by literally putting our eyes on it. It works by having the customer provide a code given on the website and this code allows access to their screen through Smartlook. Agents and customers alike have come to rely heavily on Smartlook to help get the support they need and get it in a timely manner. It makes a world of difference when you can see the screen, identify the issue and solve it all at once rather than take precious minutes and hours trying to describe what is going on and another hour trying to describe how to fix it.

Cons

The only thing I can say I least like about this software is that you can only screenshare within the website. Unlike another competition, you cannot screen the customers complete computer screen. If a customer wants to minimize a screen so you can see a document on their computer, for instance, you can't. In my line of work its not a deal breaker at all because the majority of the workflow is within the website.

Response from Smartlook

Thanks for your review!
This review is not related to Smartlook but more to Turbotax.
Please change this,
Lukas

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Márton P.

The idea to look how our customers use our websites is brilliant. I'm always very excited to replay.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/08/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have spotted out several typos and failures on my site just by looking what my visitors had seen. It provides the best insight as well regarding the customers behaviour, it is not comparable to anything else I was using (google analytics, path recording). I ve discovered a new world with Smartview and can't help spending hours playing back then recordings, and checking what and hiw the visitors were doing.

Cons

On a smartphone the right panel (offering other other recordings if the same visitor ) takes up a considerable amount of space, and it takes too much clicks and precise zoom to hide it. Itwould be better to be able to switch it off from the profile settings, (or simply deactive it for the free package)
Its also a big painpont, that there is no option to filter out the recording from direct (not facebook, google etc), as this info is also not visible on the smartphone listing

Response from Smartlook

Hi Márton,
thank you very much for your review.

We will change Smartlook in future and it will be much more mobile friendly.
You can filter the visitor recordings in the advanced filters. Under Visitor behaviour is the option referer.
Enjoy Smartlook
Lukas Mehnert,
CMO at Smartlook

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Discover how your users browse your website.

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/05/09
Review Source: Capterra

I activate Smartlook on my website once a week to collect hundreds of videos and review them during the week. In this way I discover possible failures or improvements and apply them.

Pros

Smartlook is a great tool that helps to know how users use your web page.

Smartlook records videos of how users navigate, giving you basic information such as what browser you use, the country of origin, the device ...

Thanks to these recordings you can discover possible improvements or failures in your web page. You can understand better because users can not complete a process and work to give them a better experience.

In addition to the recordings, in Smartlook you can create heatmaps and funnels to have a better control of objectives.

Cons

In the SPA web pages the heatmaps do not work correctly. In addition, by default the CSS cache is activated and if you make changes to your web page it takes time to update them, because of this, you may be watching recordings that apparently have errors but in reality it is the fault of the cache.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Philip W.

Smartlook helps me look smart

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/21
Review Source: Capterra

Seriously this is a tool you should be using so you know how your website works for your customers, it's all about finding what works and where you may be going wrong. It's cheaper than a consultant and this online consultant works 27/7

Pros

Smartlook is easy to use it helps me see how people interact with my website so I can improve user experience. I have also been able to make contact with customers who have had difficulty placing an order so this software has helped me in more ways than one.. It can also be used a a good anti fraud deterrent also.

Cons

Price I think the price could be lowered to help the smaller business ,you know the one man band who works from home.

Response from Smartlook

Thank you for your review!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Kevin S.

Clever software shame about the after sales service

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/09/05
Review Source: Capterra

I found it very disappointing that I was only offered a credit and not a refund of the VAT that should not have been charged to a UK based business. After several emails to their support team they no longer even reply. BEWARE!

Pros

The insight to offers to client on boarding is invaluable.

Cons

If you are a European customer and don't want to be charged VAT that you cannot recover the sign up flow is very misleading. Although the VAT is offered as a credit note they refused a refund.

Response from Smartlook

Hi Kevin,

we are sorry for misunderstanding in communication with our customer care team.

After checking ticket where you discussed the issue with VAT, we came to a conclusion that this problem was caused by not filling VAT ID in your order and thus VAT 20% was automatically included.

In case our customers forget to add VAT ID and later on ask for a refund, it has an impact on our accounting and thus we try to agree on credit settlement.

However, when a customer doesn't agree with credit, we refund the VAT back to the credit card.

In your case, we have already sent you credit (we cannot undo this operation), but we understand this was not accepted by you and thus we just sent a refund on your credit card too.

Thank you for your understanding.

Dalibor Houfek,
COO at Smartlook

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Smartlook Pricing

Starting from
€19,00/month
Pricing options
Free Trial
Free
Subscription
Value for money

Free package: 100,000 visitors/month
Starter package: €19/month for 5,000 visitors/month
Power package: €79/month for 25,000 visitors/month
Enterprise: contact Smartlook for more pricing information

Smartlook Features

  • API
  • Activity Dashboard
  • Activity Tracking
  • Mobile Integration

  • Automatic Notifications
  • Automatic Reminders
  • CRM Integration
  • Calendar Management
  • Contact Database
  • Custom Fields
  • Customer Database
  • Customizable Branding
  • Customizable Reporting
  • Customizable Templates
  • Data Import/Export
  • Electronic Payments
  • Email Integration
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Social Media Integration
  • Third Party Integration

Additional information for Smartlook

Key features of Smartlook

  • API availability
  • Activity dashboard
  • Activity monitoring
  • Activity tracking
  • Analytics
  • Application integration
  • Behavior tracking
  • Click-through tracking
  • Content filtering
  • Conversion optimization tools
  • Conversion rate optimization
  • Conversion tracking
  • Customer activity reporting
  • Customer analysis
  • Customer experience management
  • Customer history
  • Data storage management
  • Engagement analytics
  • Filtered views
  • Graphical data presentation
  • Heatmap
  • Incident management
  • Issue management
  • Issue tracking
  • Lead nurturing
  • Multi-channel management
  • Multi-language
  • Multiple user accounts
  • Problem management
  • Record & playback ability
  • Recurring issues
  • Tagging
  • Tags & keywords
  • Tracking features
  • Video support
  • Visitor journey
  • Visitor targeting
  • Visitor tracking
  • Visual analytics
  • Web analytics
  • Web traffic reporting
  • Website visitor recordings

Benefits

1) UX specialists need to find out areas in your website that can be optimized to improve conversion rate of visitors.

CRO and UX specialists can use Smartlook to find friction in conversion paths by utilizing user recordings and funnels. For example by creating a funnel of a checkout process and filtering out customers that dropped off right before placing an order. Insights from these recordings provide information on what to improve on the website to increase conversion rate and UX.

Feature: Conversion funnels

2) Customer support team struggles to keep up with and verify reported issues.

Customer support representatives can take advantage of Smartlook by watching recordings of customers to validate reported issues. Thanks to user identification feature in Smartlook support reps can check what exactly was customer doing right before reporting an issue. This way they can quickly understand the problem and help the customer faster.

Feature: Always-on visitor recordings

3) IT group is on a bug hunt to find out what’s causing all those system hiccups and glitches in your application.

Quality assurance teams can use powerful Smartlook filters and find recordings with JavaScript errors. These recordings reveal bugs which users encountered without the need for complicated and lengthy bug reproduction. This saves the time of both developers and testers.

Feature: Automatic event tracking (JS errors)

Smartlook FAQs

Below are some frequently asked questions for Smartlook.

Q. What type of pricing plans does Smartlook offer?

Smartlook offers the following pricing plans:

Starting from: €19,00/month

Pricing model: Free, Subscription

Free Trial: Available

Free package: 100,000 visitors/month
Starter package: €19/month for 5,000 visitors/month
Power package: €79/month for 25,000 visitors/month
Enterprise: contact Smartlook for more pricing information

Q. What are the main features of Smartlook?

Smartlook offers the following features:

  • API availability
  • Activity dashboard
  • Activity monitoring
  • Activity tracking
  • Analytics
  • Application integration
  • Behavior tracking
  • Click-through tracking
  • Content filtering
  • Conversion optimization tools
  • Conversion rate optimization
  • Conversion tracking
  • Customer activity reporting
  • Customer analysis
  • Customer experience management
  • Customer history
  • Data storage management
  • Engagement analytics
  • Filtered views
  • Graphical data presentation
  • Heatmap
  • Incident management
  • Issue management
  • Issue tracking
  • Lead nurturing
  • Multi-channel management
  • Multi-language
  • Multiple user accounts
  • Problem management
  • Record & playback ability
  • Recurring issues
  • Tagging
  • Tags & keywords
  • Tracking features
  • Video support
  • Visitor journey
  • Visitor targeting
  • Visitor tracking
  • Visual analytics
  • Web analytics
  • Web traffic reporting
  • Website visitor recordings

Q. Who are the typical users of Smartlook?

Smartlook has the following typical customers:

Freelancers, Large Enterprises, Mid Size Business, Non Profit, Public Administrations, Small Business

Q. What languages does Smartlook support?

Smartlook supports the following languages:

Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, Ukrainian

Q. What type of pricing plans does Smartlook offer?

Smartlook has the following pricing plans:

Free, Subscription

Q. Does Smartlook support mobile devices?

We do not have any information about what devices Smartlook supports

Q. What other apps does Smartlook integrate with?

Smartlook integrates with the following applications:

Authoritas, BigCommerce, Joomla, Mixpanel, Shopify, Unbounce, Weebly, Wordpress, Zendesk, Zendesk

Q. What level of support does Smartlook offer?

Smartlook offers the following support options:

FAQs, Knowledge Base, Online Support, Phone Support, Video Tutorials