Screenly

Raspberry Pi based digital signage solution

4,2 /5 (9 reviews) Write a Review!

Screenly Overview

What is Screenly?

Screenly is a Raspberry Pi based digital signage solution for use by businesses of any type or size. Screenly supports full HD videos, display image content, and web page content in 1080p resolution, depending on the user’s digital signage screen or screens.

Via Screenly's CMS, users can build and manage their own digital signage network, and with Screenly's API, integrate directly into other solutions.

Screenly Overview

Pricing

Starting from
US$19,95/month

Pricing options

Free Trial
Free
Subscription
Open Source
Value for money

A 14-day free trial is available, after which pricing tiers are as follows:

Bronze: $19.95/month (2 screens, 15GB storage)

Silver: $99.95/month (12 screens, 100GB storage)

Gold: $199.95/month (28 screens, 250GB storage)

Enterprise: $799.95/month (130 screens, 1100GB storage)

Custom pricing for deployment over 500 screens.


Screenly Features

Devices
Business size
S M L
Markets
United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, Germany
Supported Languages
English

Media

Screenly video Screenly screenshot: Screenly screenshot: Screenly screenshot: Screenly screenshot: Screenly screenshot:

Screenly Reviews

Screenly Reviews

Overall rating
4,2
/
5
Excellent
6

Very good
1

Average
0

Poor
2

Terrible
0

Value for Money
2,8
Features
3,8
Ease of Use
4,8
Customer Support
3,3
78% recommended this app
Timmy M.

Screenly

Excellent


Verified Reviewer

Goodbye to Free

Very disappointed that first they cancel their free one-screen option to new customers but then turn around and disable accounts for pre-existing customers like us. No warning either. I discovered by noticing nothing was on the display and then when logging in to see the “account disabled” notice. Nothing I can do except purchase their monthly package that was overkill for our small organization. Since we can’t afford to pay, I’m switching over to info-beamer.


Mark L.

Great Idea; failing to deliver (all screens down)

right now, I would just like it to work; all screens are currently down.


David N.

Review for OSE

Excellent. Will definitely consider a paid version when it comes time to replace the OneLAN digital signage we have elsewhere.

I'd like education pricing and possibly local asset storage rather than cloud. We're a school and not a high turnover business


Conrad J.

Great for advertising in my store!

Overall a very useful platform for advertising.


Timmy M.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Screenly

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/18
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent

Pros

Really easy to use very functional. The fact that you can time and queue the digital elements is fantastic. The turnaround time from when the media is sent to when it actually plays is very impressive. We are very happy with our partnership with Screenly. The customer service is excellent with a "can do" attitude to solving any operational issues.

Cons

There is nothing that I dislike and at the cost it is better than anything other platform we have used on the market.

Response from Screenly

Hi Timmy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our software and we value your feedback. If you have additional questions about Screenly, please feel free to contact [email protected]

We appreciate you being a loyal Screenly customer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Goodbye to Free

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/03/11
Review Source: Capterra

Very disappointed that first they cancel their free one-screen option to new customers but then turn around and disable accounts for pre-existing customers like us. No warning either. I discovered by noticing nothing was on the display and then when logging in to see the “account disabled” notice. Nothing I can do except purchase their monthly package that was overkill for our small organization. Since we can’t afford to pay, I’m switching over to info-beamer.

Pros

Was a really great option for our non-profit that couldn’t afford another monthly cost.

Cons

Nothing I can think of. It was easy to use and the free version had all the options we needed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Mark L.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great Idea; failing to deliver (all screens down)

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/27
Review Source: Capterra

right now, I would just like it to work; all screens are currently down.

Pros

Fills a need, looks to be great, easy setup and easy to use interface overall.

Cons

Paying for something that is not working.

Response from Screenly

Hi Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We strive to do everything we can for our customers and apologize that we were not able to resolve this despite our repeated attempts.

We have released new updates that address the issue you were having and do see that your screens are currently active and in sync.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience. If you'd like to discuss this matter further, please send us an email at [email protected] Thank you again for your honest feedback and we look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Samantha Richards
Screenly Inc.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

David N.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Review for OSE

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/06
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent. Will definitely consider a paid version when it comes time to replace the OneLAN digital signage we have elsewhere.

I'd like education pricing and possibly local asset storage rather than cloud. We're a school and not a high turnover business

Pros

Free and can run on a Pi, can use Google slides. Everything a poor inner city school needs for a reception display

Cons

Again, just the OSE. Can't actively reboot it from the web interface, no means to check if it's still running (i.e. preview of what's on screen), which would be very handy if administering a screen from another building. I've had a couple of black screen incidents while playing about with the software setting it up.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Conrad J.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great for advertising in my store!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/06
Review Source: Capterra

Overall a very useful platform for advertising.

Pros

That it’s manageable from anywhere in the world and the very easy initial setup!

Cons

That there’s no functionality for PowerPoint files or to let the pages turn from one to the other.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

User recommendation
7,7/10
Based on 9 user ratings
Compare user recommendation rating with alternatives
Compare with alternatives

Screenly Pricing

Screenly Pricing

Starting from
US$19,95/month
Free Trial
Free
Subscription
Open Source
Value for money

A 14-day free trial is available, after which pricing tiers are as follows:

Bronze: $19.95/month (2 screens, 15GB storage)

Silver: $99.95/month (12 screens, 100GB storage)

Gold: $199.95/month (28 screens, 250GB storage)

Enterprise: $799.95/month (130 screens, 1100GB storage)

Custom pricing for deployment over 500 screens.

A 14-day free trial is available, after which pricing tiers are as follows:

Bronze: $19.95/month (2 screens, 15GB storage)

Silver: $99.95/month (12 screens, 100GB storage)

Gold: $199.95/month (28 screens, 250GB storage)

Enterprise: $799.95/month (130 screens, 1100GB storage)

Custom pricing for deployment over 500 screens.

Value for Money
2,8/5
Based on 9 user ratings
Compare value for money rating with alternatives
Compare with alternatives

Screenly Features

Screenly Features

A/B Testing
API
Activity Dashboard
Automatic Notifications
Campaign Analysis
Campaign Management
Campaign Segmentation
Content Management
Customizable Branding
Customizable Templates
Data Import/Export
Drag & Drop Interface
Engagement Analytics
Monitoring
Multi-Channel Marketing
Real Time Analytics
Reporting & Statistics
Social Media Integration
Template Management
Third Party Integration
Features
3,8/5
Based on 9 user ratings
Compare features rating with alternatives
Compare with alternatives

Categories

Additional information for Screenly

Additional information for Screenly

Key features of Screenly

  • API
  • Automatic player updates
  • Content / widget store
  • Content library
  • Content scheduling
  • Digital menu boards
  • GPS capability
  • Media library
  • Multi-screen, multi-location
  • Multimedia support
  • Offline mode
  • Playlist management
  • Plug & play install
  • Remote deployment
  • Remote monitoring
  • Remote update / installation
  • Video wall ready

Benefits

  • Control all display content across one or multiple, multi-location screens from one dashboard, from anywhere.

  • Monitor the health of a digital signage network and get alerted via a custom status dashboard each time a digital sign experiences issues.

  • Assets are distributed and cached so that content keeps playing even if internet connection drops temporarily.

  • Screenly automatically and frequently sends security and software updates to devices, and is backed by Ubuntu Core technology.

  • An open-source version of Screenly - Screenly OSE - is available for free.

  • Screenly FAQs

    Screenly FAQs

    Below are some frequently asked questions for Screenly.

    Q. What type of pricing plans does Screenly offer?

    Screenly offers the following pricing plans:

    Starting from: US$19,95/month

    Pricing model: Free, Subscription, Open Source

    Free Trial: Available

    A 14-day free trial is available, after which pricing tiers are as follows: Bronze: $19.95/month (2 screens, 15GB storage) Silver: $99.95/month (12 screens, 100GB storage) Gold: $199.95/month (28 screens, 250GB storage) Enterprise: $799.95/month (130 screens, 1100GB storage) Custom pricing for deployment over 500 screens.

    Q. What are the main features of Screenly?

    Screenly offers the following features:

    • API
    • Automatic player updates
    • Content / widget store
    • Content library
    • Content scheduling
    • Digital menu boards
    • GPS capability
    • Media library
    • Multi-screen, multi-location
    • Multimedia support
    • Offline mode
    • Playlist management
    • Plug & play install
    • Remote deployment
    • Remote monitoring
    • Remote update / installation
    • Video wall ready

    Q. Who are the typical users of Screenly?

    Screenly has the following typical customers:

    Small Business, Large Enterprises, Mid Size Business

    Q. What languages does Screenly support?

    Screenly supports the following languages:

    English

    Q. What type of pricing plans does Screenly offer?

    Screenly has the following pricing plans:

    Free, Subscription, Open Source

    Q. Does Screenly support mobile devices?

    We do not have any information about what devices Screenly supports

    Q. What other apps does Screenly integrate with?

    We do not have any information about what integrations Screenly has

    Q. What level of support does Screenly offer?

    Screenly offers the following support options:

    Online Support, FAQs, Knowledge Base, Video Tutorials, Forum