YourVirtuoso

YourVirtuoso

Administration & marketing tools for music & dance studios

4.2/5 (55 reviews)

YourVirtuoso Overview

YourVirtuoso is an administration & marketing solution which enables dance studios & music schools to manage their website, enrollments, emails and more. YourVirtuoso's administrative tools facilitate the automation of payment processing, marketing email, account balance tracking and class enrollment management processes, while the customer portal serves to enhance user-productivity by allowing families to view enrollments, make payments and schedule make-up classes themselves.

Pricing

Starting from
US$30,00/month
Pricing options
Free Trial
Free
Subscription
Value for money

Devices

Business size

S
M
L

Markets

Australia, Canada, United States

Supported Languages

English

YourVirtuoso Reviews

Overall rating
4.2/5
76% positive reviews
23
Excellent
19
Very good
12
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
Jeanie R.

Our large Kindermusik program could not function as well as it does, without Your Virtuoso.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/31
Review Source: Capterra

See the survey

Pros

It's easy to use, loads quickly, and has information I need, from reports to a class list, at my fingertips.

Cons

It doesn't prorate fees for semester-based programs. A student joining week #4, for example, should have an automatic system to prorate and provide the late registrant with their adjusted amount to pay. It doesn't calculate so I have to do it manually. I'm embarrassed to tell the parent to follow these steps:
1. Go online, register and pay the full price, as that's the only way the registration can be completed.
2. Send me an email to let me know you've completed your registration and have paid the full amount.
3. I go into their family account after I have done the math, and do a credit adjustment for 4 weeks the family has missed at rate
3. I have to modify their account after the credit adjustment.
4. Next I have to issue a credit for $48 back onto their credit card (have to pay merchant card services extra fee to issue a credit
5. I send the family an email to let them know their statement should reflect a credit of $48 on it, within a few days.

This process takes at least 5 minutes. We probably have an estimated 40 or more students join our classes after we have already started our 14-week session. I, personally, have to do each of these prorate transactions by myself, often on days I've already taught 5 classes, and have a million emails to reply, and staff to manage. Please, please, prorate automatically for semester-based users. My SIL says it should take a programmer hardly any time at all to set it up to help us!

Response from SimplySignUp

Thanks Jeanie,
We do prorate for ongoing, monthly payment classes, but as you say, the up front semester based sessions do not have that option at the moment.
Have you thought about changing the class price every week? Would that be easier and cause less customer impact?
Contact me if you want to discuss that option.
Gerry

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Mandi G.

Not bad but needs improvements

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

I would like to see a few upgrades to YV. While I do think it is a good program I think it is missing some key features. In particular, you used to be able to adjust the font size in emails. That feature disappeared a year or two ago and has never returned. This seems like a basic function that should never have been removed. I also find that when I am writing a lengthy newsletter, the system tends to time out and freeze. It doesn't not auto save and on numerous occasions I have had to rewrite a newsletter 3 times due to this happening. I don't think it should time out when I am working in the program. I've also had issues with photos. Suddenly photos that I have uploaded and saved and previously used turn up as question marks in my emails - even when I try to re-upload them. The system does not give me a reason why they are not working and I can view them in my saved photos. So this is very strange.

An additional feature I would like to see is the client being able to print off their own invoice, receipt or statement that also shows tax amount when they access their accounts.

And finally I would like to see some improvements to the Kindermusik public site templates. They are extremely outdated looking. The price point is great for YV which is why I continue to use it. However I think it's past due time to make it look fresh and and hip.

Pros

Ability to clone sessions. Fairly easy to use. Price point is great.

Cons

Public site looks incredibly outdated - I would say by 15 plus years.
Lack of certain features as previously explained: cannot adjust font sizes, system times out/freezes, not all photos work, client access to print receipts/statement/invoice with tax shown.

Response from SimplySignUp

Mandi,
Thanks for the review.
You have some great specifics there, and I am going to add them to the feature request area on the support site.
I don't know if you reported that image issue, but I suspect it is a known issue that we fixed a few months ago. It affected iOS mail and caused images to not load due to security settings needed for those mail clients.
Send us some suggestions for websites you like - we are periodically looking for new template ideas.
Gerry

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Jane S.

Your Virtuoso Review from Mountain Song Music Studio, Inc.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

Overall I have had a very good experience with YourVirtuoso. The website is easy to use, even for someone like me who isn't that tech savvy. I can add class semesters/schedules easily, I can see family account info, class rosters and make switches on the back end if necessary. My teachers can be included on automatic communications which makes things easier. The customer service has been improving in terms of length of time of response and they are open to suggestions and feedback. Families generally have an easy time navigating the site, finding class schedules, registration, demo classes. I really like the online make up scheduler for ease with make up classes. There are quite a few functions that I have not used yet so I am still learning. Overall it's been a really great experience and I highly recommend it.

Pros

Ease of adding class semesters, schedules, coupon codes.

Cons

Needing to add "required field" for families who do not enter phone/address when creating account. I also run two summer semesters and I cannot create a separate Summer Session I and Summer Session II button for this.

Response from SimplySignUp

Thanks Jane.
We are looking at ways to allow more flexibility with Session icons. I'll let you know.
Gerry

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Jeanie R.

Your Virtuoso - great software for music teachers

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

We've used Your Virtuoso for 9 years and couldn't operate our business as easily or successfully without it. We've had very few problems over the years but when we have, support staff was quick to resolve issues (mostly user related!).

Pros

Easy to use, dependable, reports contain the info we need, and class rosters are exactly what we require.

Cons

It doesn't pro-rate fees automatically. For example, when a student registers week #4 of our 14-week session I have to take out time to do a manual credit adjustment requiring several time-consuming steps. I look less professional when I have to explain to the new parent how we will refund their credit card after they pay in full. We've lost a few students over the years during the multiple emails back and forth trying to gain their trust that we really will put a credit of $48 back into their credit card.

Response from SimplySignUp

Thanks for the great review Jeannie, and the feedback on pro-rating.
We do have automatic prorates for monthly (subscription) payment plans, but I suspect you are looking for a plan that is paid "Up Front" that would prorate based on which week of the semester it is.
It's on our list!
Thanks,
Gerry

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Joan P.

I've been using YV since 2007. It has been a good experience overall.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/31
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The back office is wonderful, easy for myself and my administrative assistant to use. The client and prospective tracking is indispensable to me, as I have quite a large mailing list after 10 years.

Cons

The website needs to be updated. I would like to be able to put streaming videos on the main page. And make it easier for my clients and prospectives to navigate the website. It also would be nice to have the capability to use automated emails with this software...I pay to have that done with another company.

Response from SimplySignUp

Hi Joan,
Thanks.
Send me a Help ticket and I can explain how to add videos to your site. There is a help document too if you want to look there.
I assume you are looking for a series of mailings that go out automatically when a prospect fills out a contact us form? As you know, you can schedule mailing in YourVirtuoso, and there is one sent on an initial contact. There are workarounds for sending a series of emails, but they are not fully automatic.
Regards,
Gerry

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

YourVirtuoso Pricing

Starting from
US$30,00/month
Pricing options
Free Trial
Free
Subscription
Value for money

Free: $0/month
Pro: $29.99/month
Full: $79.99/month

YourVirtuoso Features

  • Activity Dashboard
  • Calendar Management
  • Registration Management
  • Reporting & Statistics

  • API
  • Assessment Management
  • Attendance Management
  • Automatic Notifications
  • Communication Management
  • Course Authoring
  • Course Catalog
  • Customizable Branding
  • Data Import/Export
  • Learning Management
  • Progress Reports
  • Progress Tracking
  • Records Management
  • Self Service Portal
  • Time & Attendance Tracking
  • eLearning Management

Additional information for YourVirtuoso

Key features of YourVirtuoso

  • Activity dashboard
  • Auto-pay
  • Automated scheduling
  • Automatic updates
  • Calendar management
  • Campaign management
  • Class management
  • Class roster management
  • Color-coded calendar
  • Contact database
  • Contact management
  • Content management
  • Curriculum management
  • Customer portal
  • Dance studio management
  • Email management
  • Email marketing
  • Enrollment management
  • Enrollment tracking
  • Extensive reporting
  • Family accounts receivable management
  • Family/student management
  • Filtered views
  • Instructor management
  • Mobile friendly websites
  • Music studio management
  • Online payments
  • POS
  • Pricing management
  • Prospecting management
  • QuickBooks integration
  • Recital management
  • Registration management
  • Sales summary
  • Studio information management
  • Task management
  • Waitlist management

Benefits

  • Provides users with a mobile and SEO friendly marketing website from which to market and manage music and dance classes.
  • Supports secure online payments for classes.
  • Gives users valuable insight into business performance with extensive reporting options.
  • Facilitates email marketing campaigns.
  • Enables users to manage accounting activity accurately with QuickBooks integration.

  • YourVirtuoso FAQs

    Below are some frequently asked questions for YourVirtuoso.

    Q. What type of pricing plans does YourVirtuoso offer?

    YourVirtuoso offers the following pricing plans:

    Starting from: US$30,00/month

    Pricing model: Free, Subscription

    Free Trial: Available

    Free: $0/month
    Pro: $29.99/month
    Full: $79.99/month

    Q. What are the main features of YourVirtuoso?

    YourVirtuoso offers the following features:

    • Activity dashboard
    • Auto-pay
    • Automated scheduling
    • Automatic updates
    • Calendar management
    • Campaign management
    • Class management
    • Class roster management
    • Color-coded calendar
    • Contact database
    • Contact management
    • Content management
    • Curriculum management
    • Customer portal
    • Dance studio management
    • Email management
    • Email marketing
    • Enrollment management
    • Enrollment tracking
    • Extensive reporting
    • Family accounts receivable management
    • Family/student management
    • Filtered views
    • Instructor management
    • Mobile friendly websites
    • Music studio management
    • Online payments
    • POS
    • Pricing management
    • Prospecting management
    • QuickBooks integration
    • Recital management
    • Registration management
    • Sales summary
    • Studio information management
    • Task management
    • Waitlist management

    Q. Who are the typical users of YourVirtuoso?

    YourVirtuoso has the following typical customers:

    Mid Size Business, Non Profit, Small Business

    Q. What languages does YourVirtuoso support?

    YourVirtuoso supports the following languages:

    English

    Q. What type of pricing plans does YourVirtuoso offer?

    YourVirtuoso has the following pricing plans:

    Free, Subscription

    Q. Does YourVirtuoso support mobile devices?

    We do not have any information about what devices YourVirtuoso supports

    Q. What other apps does YourVirtuoso integrate with?

    We do not have any information about what integrations YourVirtuoso has

    Q. What level of support does YourVirtuoso offer?

    YourVirtuoso offers the following support options:

    Online Support, Phone Support