Bokun

Cloud-based booking management solution for tourism industry

About Bokun

Bokun is a cloud-based booking management solution which enables small to large travel and tourism businesses manage reservations, products content, images, categorization, pricing, inventory, and payments. The platform also offers an online booking engine which allows users to create custom booking websites.

Bokun provides a range of features such as API integration, credit card processing, channel management, B2B marketplace, operations management, detailed reports, and more. The solution allows users to manage commissions terms and contracts with sellers as well as suppliers. It helps users track sales, generate automatic invoices, and view accounts payable and receivable in real time. The integrated payments processing system enables businesses to accept online payments from credit and debit cards, issue refunds, and manage cancellations.

Bokun includes an inventory management module which lets organizations manage resources with real-time availability statuses. Users can create combo products, upsell, and let travelers customize products. The channel management feature helps users distribute their products, provide self-service logins to agents, or sell services directly through third-party websites. Bokun also provides access to passenger manifests, pickup lists, customer communications, and sales reports with analytics.

Key benefits of Bokun

• Bokun connects businesses to all the major OTAs for global distribution, providing instant exposure to a wider customer base.

• Publish real-time availability, create product combos, and manage add-ons and product customizations with Bokun's inventory management tools.

• Bokun centralizes bookings, inventory, pricing, availability and channel distribution in a single platform.

• Mobile-friendly booking engine widgets allow customers to books from anywhere, any time, on any device.

• Manage multiple rates, currencies and offers across different channels using Bokun’s flexible pricing features.

Devices

Business size

S M L

Markets

United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, China and 5 others, India, Japan, Germany, Brazil, Mexico

Supported Languages

Chinese (Simplified), English, French, German, Italian and 4 others, Japanese, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish

Images

Bokun Marketplace Screenshot: Establish partnerships as both a re-seller and vendor
Manage Offline Bookings Screenshot: Create, amend and cancel bookings
Agent Areas Screenshot: Custom sales areas, account management tools, wallets, commission management, invoicing & billing, and reporting for agents
Custom Booking Engine Screenshot: Add a mobile-friendly booking widget to websites
View 5 more
Bokun video
Bokun video
Bokun screenshot: Bokun Marketplace Screenshot: Establish partnerships as both a re-seller and vendor Bokun screenshot: Manage Offline Bookings Screenshot: Create, amend and cancel bookings Bokun screenshot: Agent Areas Screenshot: Custom sales areas, account management tools, wallets, commission management, invoicing & billing, and reporting for agents Bokun screenshot: Custom Booking Engine Screenshot: Add a mobile-friendly booking widget to websites

Features

Total features of Bokun: 41

  • ACH Payment Processing
  • API
  • Automated Scheduling
  • Billing Rate Management
  • Booking Management
  • Categorization
  • Channel Management
  • Commission Management
  • Contract Management
  • Credit Card Integration
  • Credit Card Processing
  • Customizable Branding
  • Electronic Payments
  • Geographic Maps
  • Inventory Management
  • Inventory Tracking
  • Multi-Channel Communication
  • Multi-Channel Management
  • Multi-Language
  • Multi-Location
  • Online Booking Integration
  • Order Management
  • Partial Payments
  • Partner Management
  • Payments Disbursement
  • Price Management
  • Product Catalog
  • Product Catalog Integration
  • Real Time Data
  • Real Time Monitoring
  • Real Time Notifications
  • Real Time Updates
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Reservations Management
  • Summary Reports
  • Third Party Integration
  • User Management
  • Vendor Management
  • Website Integration
  • Website Management
  • Widgets

Alternatives

Xola

4,7
#1 Alternative to Bokun
Xola is a booking, marketing, and distribution platform that powers tour operators, activity providers, and other...

Retreat Booking Guru

4,8
#2 Alternative to Bokun
Retreat Booking Guru is a cloud-based application that helps retreat organizations create programs, manage online...

PEAK 15

4,6
#3 Alternative to Bokun
PEAK 15 is a cloud-based travel management solution that helps tour operators manage bookings, marketing operations, &...

BookingHound

0
#4 Alternative to Bokun
BookingHound is a booking & reservations system which enables businesses of all sizes to create, promote, manage & sell...

Reviews

Overall rating

4,8 /5
(323)
Value for Money
4,8/5
Features
4,6/5
Ease of Use
4,5/5
Customer Support
4,7/5

Already have Bokun?

Software buyers need your help! Product reviews help the rest of us make great decisions.

Write a Review!
Showing 5 reviews of 323
Maarten V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best way to grow our business

Reviewed on 2019/06/17

If you run a small tour operation I would certainly recommend getting onto Bokun, it gets you...

If you run a small tour operation I would certainly recommend getting onto Bokun, it gets you started faster and at the same time set you up for bigger stuff in the future.

Pros

Bokun delivers a system that integrates just about every functionality we need as a Food Tour company. I particularly like how we can easily find new partners to hook up to the same functionality.

Using bokun we can give our clients a seamless experience and at the same time keep administration on our end as lean as possible.

Cons

Cons isn't the right word, the company has a few places to work harder on.
- Support could respond faster
- Support and new feature roll-out has to get more transparent
- E-commerce integration has to be enhanced. Up selling, down selling, cross selling are all in its infancy at this moment.
- Partner integration needs more work, the software currently doesn't work well with a model where brick-and-mortar tour agencies sell tours on behalf of us. (Ticketing displays incorrect messages to the end user, invoices can only be sent to one party, not to a different invoicing department, payments are not assumed to come in just before or just after the tour date).

Response from Bokun

Hi Maarten,
Thank you for your feedback. We hear you loud and clear about each of your suggestions for improvement, and we thank you for taking the time to let us know. We are working on improving support response time, our new feature communications, and many product enhancements. Please do not hesitate to reach out to the support team with any other suggestions or ideas.

Best,
Bokun Support

Viktoria J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The only booking software with options to match all needs

Reviewed on 2021/01/22

We used it as an operator (selling our products), as a reseller (selling others products) and...

We used it as an operator (selling our products), as a reseller (selling others products) and through the API which we used in the software we were building. It was very easy to use and set up and offered help whenever we needed. As we were using the API we talked to both developers and customer support often and they were kind and helpful.

Pros

Whatever we needed it to do, it did. Rare were the cases when we could not set up products as we wanted them and then the developers listened and made the options available. If you are looking for software to offer your tours or sell other companies' products, Bókun is the way to go.

Cons

Sometimes it had down time that lasted for longer periods of time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Technical errors & unfriendly policies

Reviewed on 2020/04/15

We use bokun for booking of tour products via our website. However, after negative experiences with...

We use bokun for booking of tour products via our website. However, after negative experiences with Bokun we are now looking for a better option - luckily there are countless better booking software products out there.

Pros

The possibility for resellers to gain access to your products.

Cons

Fairly many bugs in the system and exploitative terms & conditions. For tour operators: If a tour gets cancelled by the customer for whatever reason (sickness, travel restrictions due to covid 19, change of travel plans etc.) Bokun keeps all fees paid for the bookings if it is cancelled later than 1 month after the booking was placed by the customer. In total our company has lost about 10k NOK due to this policy, and we are expecting to loose quite significant amounts due to all the covid 19 related cancellations. While we refund the customer, being an understanding company that treats our guests with respect and doesn't take money for a tour that the guest cannot attend due to the world being in a crisis, bokun still takes the fees leaving the tour operator not only without income but with the burden of having to pay a fee for a booking that was cancelled!! At the same time their marketing strategy is trying to make them seem understanding and helpful to its users. Pure hypocricy! After having used bokun for quite some time now we have decided to look for an alternative booking system with less technical issues, provided by a company that values its customers and treats them fairly.

Response from Bokun, A TripAdvisor Company

We are sorry to hear about your poor experience. Our support team is here to help. We believe that this particular issue has been rectified, but please do not hesitate to reach out to [email protected]

To clarify a bit, we only charge a service fee for bookings made on your website when using our online booking engine; all bookings from other channels such as offline, from OTAs, or travel agents come at no charge from Bokun. We don't charge a fee for cancelled direct online bookings that are cancelled within the same month as the booking. But we do not automatically refund for past fees you've already paid to Bokun for bookings made in previous months.

We do hope that clarifies, and again our support team is here to help always, and especially during this difficult time.

Best,
The Bokun Team

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great tour booking software

Reviewed on 2021/01/08

I used Bókun as a reseller, as an operator, and through an API, so from all possible angles. They...

I used Bókun as a reseller, as an operator, and through an API, so from all possible angles. They did have issues, but worked on them and resolved them in a timely manner. All in all, the best tour booking software I worked with to this day.

Pros

The ease of use, the number of tour operators available through the platform, constant updates, and a solid customer support. Their UI is user friendly now that they remade most of it and is actually a massive upgrade from what it used to be.

Cons

Sometimes, they would break the API and not inform anyone about it, creating massive problems until fixed. They also had some cache issues with availability, but that has since been fixed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great features, with some annoying bugs

Reviewed on 2020/05/07

Good value for money, good connectivity, good support. Product owned by large OTA is a minus in the...

Good value for money, good connectivity, good support. Product owned by large OTA is a minus in the long-term when operators are fighting to minimize OTA dependence.

Pros

The best part of this reservation software is the marketplace that allows you to contract directly with other suppliers and resellers of tours and activities. Live support is also a good feature that most other reservation systems don't have. The help articles are quite extensive as well. Product import from Viator is a great feature.

Cons

There are some annoying bugs and features that can leave you clicking around furiously to find a solution for quite some time, eg. the setting up pricing was a mess. The software is being developed constantly and it's possible that these issues have been fixed since, but I got quite frustrated a number of times when setting up the products.
Also, raising the commission from 0.1% to 2.9% without any prior notice was not cool -- I thought the agreement was that we were paying with data to Viator... and now we're paying both ways. The OTA-owned reservation systems are creating data oligopoly situations similar to that of Google which is not the right direction in my opinion.

Showing 5 reviews of 323 Read all reviews

Bokun FAQs

Below are some frequently asked questions for Bokun.

Bokun offers the following pricing plans:

  • Pricing model: Subscription
  • Free Trial: Not Available

Bokun offers the following features:

  • Automated Scheduling
  • Customizable Branding
  • Mobile Access
  • Multi-Location
  • Order Management
  • Reservations Management
  • Vendor Management
  • Website Management

Bokun has the following typical customers:

Small Business, Large Enterprises, Freelancers, Mid Size Business

Bokun supports the following languages:

Chinese (Simplified), English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish

We do not have any information about what devices Bokun supports

We do not have any information about what integrations Bokun has

Bokun offers the following support options:

Phone Support, Online Support, FAQs, Knowledge Base, Video Tutorials

Related categories

See all software categories found for Bokun.