About OpenEdge

Global Payments Integrated helps businesses succeed by delivering secure and personalized payment solutions, allowing developers of business management solutions to accept payments through their systems and add value to their software. While many processors offer payments tied to antiquated platforms designed to support stand-alone systems, the Global Payments Integrated platform provides custom, scalable and fast payment solution integration – accommodating the swiftly-shifting ways consumers pay for goods and services. With this visionary payment processing platform, Global Payments Integrated helps business management software companies grow their business through our embedded commerce services, bolster customer loyalty with unique payments solutions, and improve profitability.

Devices

Business size

S M L

Features

Total features of OpenEdge: 42

  • ACH Payment Processing
  • API
  • Accounting Integration
  • Activity Dashboard
  • Ad hoc Reporting
  • Alerts/Notifications
  • Automatic Adjustments
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • Customer Accounts
  • Customizable Reports
  • Data Security
  • Debit/Credit Card Processing
  • Digital Signature
  • Duplicate Payment Alert
  • Electronic Payments
  • Electronic Signature
  • Full Text Search
  • Gift Card Management
  • In-Person Payments
  • Mobile Payments
  • Mobile Signature Capture
  • Multi-Location
  • Multiple Payment Options
  • Online Payments
  • Ordering Automation
  • PCI Compliance
  • Payment Fraud Prevention
  • Payment Processing
  • Payment Processing Services Integration
  • Payments Disbursement
  • Point of Sale (POS)
  • Real Time Analytics
  • Recurring/Subscription Billing
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Reporting/Analytics
  • Restaurant POS
  • Retail POS
  • Sales Reports
  • Search/Filter
  • Third Party Integrations
  • Website Integration
  • eCommerce Management

Alternatives

Marketing 360

4,7
#1 Alternative to OpenEdge
Marketing 360 is trusted by over 20,000 small businesses. Business owners use our business growth platform because the...

Odoo

4,2
#2 Alternative to OpenEdge
Odoo is a fully-integrated, customizable, and open-source suite of business applications. A majority of the business...

EzPay America

5
#3 Alternative to OpenEdge
EzPay America is a payment processing software, which helps businesses manage payments via multiple modes such as...

PayPal

4,7
#4 Alternative to OpenEdge
PayPal Commerce Platform is a comprehensive solution designed to serve your business needs and your customers, whether...

Reviews

Overall rating

3 /5
(22)
Value for Money
2,4/5
Features
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Support
2,7/5

Already have OpenEdge?

Software buyers need your help! Product reviews help the rest of us make great decisions.

Write a Review!
Showing 5 reviews of 22
Jeffrey B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Openedge works well inside our dms

Reviewed on 2021/03/14

Open edge was easy to set up, it rarely gives us issues. Some days it accepts American Express,...

Open edge was easy to set up, it rarely gives us issues. Some days it accepts American Express, some days it does not.

Pros

Our dealership's DMS is AFS Solutions. We take payments daily and OpenEdge helps process credit card payments. We really like the ease of use and the simple integration.

Cons

We are unable to process CASHAPP credit card payments. Openedge says they are working on this issue but it's an everyday nuiseance.

Ryan H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Lack of Initiative/Clarity when explaining fees to customer

Reviewed on 2020/01/14

The staff is very friendly but maybe MGMT requires their salespeople to read Dale Carnegie's How To...

The staff is very friendly but maybe MGMT requires their salespeople to read Dale Carnegie's How To Win Friends and Influence People. The person I spoke to about this issue used a line straight from the book lol. They're definitely smooth at handling the disgruntled customer who was mad about lack of direct communication about monthly fees.
I will be keeping an eye on these costs and possibly researching for another merchant.

Entrepreneurs are a wild bunch by nature and don't like being messed with.

Pros

Whether genuine or not, I must admit the staff is personable and friendly.

Cons

I agree with some of the other negative reviews on this website.
Transaction % fee and fee per swipe was discussed over the phone, as I clearly wanted to make it a point to discuss costs, but monthly rental fee was not discussed over the phone. It was written later, at the end of an email, which you can read below.
I called and they pretended like it was my fault for not reading it, and were opposed to admitting that maybe their skill as salespeople had something to do with the situation.

"I've reviewed your information and the application is now ready for signature.

Please click this link to finish and sign CLICK HERE to finish

Once I receive that signature, I will submit to my underwriters who usually take about 2 days to approve. As soon as it is, I will have the installation team call you and schedule a time to turn on the OpenEdge feature and show you how easy it is to process cards.

Finally, I was able to get our finance team to permanently waive some additional monthly fees (roughly $40/mo) to offset the cost of the EMV chip reader, which is $29.99/mo and covers unlimited replacements if it malfunctions as well as a free upgrade to the latest/greatest every 2 years, so essentially you're getting the reader at no cost and saving around $10/mo."

As you can see "CLICK HERE to finish" precedes a discussion of finances. These steps are backwards in the customer's mindset, but obviously in proper order for the salesperson.

Response from Global Payments

Hi Ryan - thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our support team has reached out to discuss any concerns you may have.

Barbara H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Beware of rate changes

Reviewed on 2019/03/25

I would not recommend OpenEdge to any business. You cannot depend on them to honor the rates they...

I would not recommend OpenEdge to any business. You cannot depend on them to honor the rates they offer. It is a difficult to get in touch with customer service and they take a long time to respond when there are problems and you cannot get credit cards to process. Today I was told by OpenEdge credit card processors that the rate they agreed to charge me in October 2017 had been changed to almost double in May 2018. I was not checking my statements regularly and I called to get them to audit my account and correct the rates. They said it was standard practice for all processors to unilaterally decide to raise rates and businesses should just check their statements each month to see if rates had been raised. They said they had sent me written notification of the increase. Unless it was stated somewhere in the fine print at the end of the statement, I did not get any notification. Beware if you use this processor and check your rates each month. My rates went from .02% to .032% and the charge per transaction went from .08 to .18.

Pros

It was one of the few that was compatible with the POS I had.

Cons

Poor customer service when there were problems. It took a long time to get help. They agreed to lower my rates when I told them I had found a cheaper processor. 5 months later they almost doubled my rates. I was told they recommend store owners check their statements each month to see if rates had been raised and it was standard practice for credit card processors to raise their rates without agreement with the owners. Check the contract you sign with them. I was told it was in the contract they could raise your rates at anytime.

Response from Global Payments

We are very sorry to hear you felt you had a negative experience with our company & would like to provide some additional insights to hopefully help clear up some of your concerns. We take a lot of pride in our customer service & are one of the top-rated service organizations in our industry. We maintain a focus on doing all we can to continually improve our customer service. We normally have very quick & easy access to our support teams - so we do apologize that your experience took longer than we hope.

Unfortunately, rate increases occur in the credit card industry that we do not control, often originating from the card associations themselves. And as a result, our rates are not locked-in forever. We do, however, always provide a thirty-day notice of any pricing adjustment on your merchant statements & you always have the opportunity to change providers if you feel we are not the best fit for your company. We hope this information is helpful!

Brian D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

avoid at all costs

Reviewed on 2021/01/27

The membership software we use for our gym requires us to use global payments for our merchant...

The membership software we use for our gym requires us to use global payments for our merchant services. The second we find a better POS we will stop using globalpayments

Pros

This is software is no better than ANY other merchant services

Cons

terrible customer services and absurd fees

Michaela M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Veterinary
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Integrates well with other programs

Reviewed on 2019/02/12

Overall we are very pleased with the service, we have had only a few issues the past 5 years we...

Overall we are very pleased with the service, we have had only a few issues the past 5 years we have been using the system. Great software that is easy to use and reliable.

Pros

Love that it easily integrated with our PM software making credit card processing a breeze. Competitive rates and easy to read statements. Easy to run reports and easy to refund when needed. Customer support is always prompt and helpful when we have issues, which is few and far between.

Cons

Honestly none that I can think of, rates to slowly raise over time but not any more than expected.

Response from Global Payments

Thank you so much for your kind review, we really appreciate your business!

Showing 5 reviews of 22 Read all reviews

OpenEdge FAQs

Below are some frequently asked questions for OpenEdge.

OpenEdge offers the following pricing plans:

  • Starting from:
  • Pricing model: Subscription
  • Free Trial: Not Available

We do not have any information about OpenEdge features

OpenEdge has the following typical customers:

Self Employed, 2-10, 11-50, 51-200, 201-500, 501-1 000, 1 001+

We do not have any information about what languages OpenEdge supports

OpenEdge supports the following devices:

Android (Mobile), iPhone (Mobile), iPad (Mobile)

We do not have any information about what integrations OpenEdge has

OpenEdge offers the following support options:

Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support, 24/7 (Live rep)

Related categories

See all software categories found for OpenEdge.