Easy Digital Downloads

Easy Digital Downloads

eCommerce management tool for selling digital products

About Easy Digital Downloads

Easy Digital Downloads is a cloud-based eCommerce software designed to help businesses create online stores and sell digital products on a centralized platform. Supervisors can add custom buttons in guest checkout pages and require agreements of terms before the purchasing process.

Easy Digital Downloads allows organizations to store customers’ details in a centralized database and maintain a record of their transaction history for future reference. Managers can add flat-rate or percentage-based discounts for specific products and define the start/end dates of the availability period. It also lets users process payments, generate analytical reports, and gain an overview of their total revenue based on date range or categories.

Easy Digital Downloads provides an API, which enables businesses to integrate the platform with various third-party applications including Gravity Forms. The software also helps users maintain a log of customers’ file downloads, configure access permissions and export data in CSV format.


Images

Easy Digital Downloads Software - Editing a payment record
Easy Digital Downloads Software - Editing a customer record
Easy Digital Downloads Software - Sales reporting
View 3 more
Easy Digital Downloads Software - Editing a payment record
Easy Digital Downloads Software - Editing a customer record
Easy Digital Downloads Software - Sales reporting

Not sure about Easy Digital Downloads? Compare with a popular alternative

Easy Digital Downloads

4,6 (110)
VS.
Highly reviewed

Starting Price

US$199,00
year
US$16,00
month

Pricing Options

Free version
Free trial
Free version
Free trial

Features

14
118

Integrations

1
35

Ease of Use

4,5 (110)
4,4 (2 940)

Value for Money

4,5 (110)
4,3 (2 940)

Customer Service

4,5 (110)
4,4 (2 940)
Green rating bars show the winning product based on the average rating and number of reviews.

Alternatives

Squarespace

4,6
#1 Alternative to Easy Digital Downloads
Squarespace is the all-in-one platform to build a beautiful website, online store, or portfolio. Drive traffic to your...

Digital River

2,5
#2 Alternative to Easy Digital Downloads
Digital River is a complete back end commerce integration for global payments, fraud, tax, and compliance. One simple...

FastSpring

4,5
#3 Alternative to Easy Digital Downloads
FastSpring is a SaaS eCommerce software designed to help businesses manage payments, subscriptions, risks, compliance,...

Shopify

4,5
#4 Alternative to Easy Digital Downloads
Shopify is a commerce platform that allows anyone to easily sell online, at a retail location, and everywhere in between

Reviews

Overall rating

4,6 /5
(110)
Value for Money
4,5/5
Features
4,4/5
Ease of Use
4,5/5
Customer Support
4,5/5

Already have Easy Digital Downloads?

Software buyers need your help! Product reviews help the rest of us make great decisions.

Showing 5 reviews of 110
Rick
Rick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The go-to WordPress ecommerce solution for sales and distribution of digital products

Reviewed on 2019/09/12

There aren't a lot of choices in this space so we're kind of stuck with EDD. It works. It does a...

There aren't a lot of choices in this space so we're kind of stuck with EDD. It works. It does a lot of you're willing to pony up.

I'm just not impressed with the backend at all anymore. It's powerful but couldn't it be a little friendlier?

Pros

Creating a download using Easy Digital Downloads for WordPress is in fact easy to do. Add a download, set a price, limit stock, add tags and categories if desired, hit publish. There it is.

However, see below.

The free version does allow two payment gateways: PayPal basic and Amazon Payments. Any site owner other than a hobbyist will want to upgrade.

There are a myriad of integrations and extension for making EDD more powerful and lots of support from dozens of companies. EDD is the standard are there are no lack of solutions.

Cons

I've yet to have a client who understood the relationship between the set up on the backend and the results on the frontend. Most can create downloads and then wonder, well, now what?

The Now What? is definitely for WordPress pros because the plugin, curiously, has no onboarding of any kind, no tooltips, no inline documentation. It's kind of up to the user to figure out WTH is going on. Such as, how does anyone buy anything?

This confusion is good for WP implementers like me but it seems a little primitive considering some of the sophisticated onboarding systems plugin authors have been able to build recently.

Also, all the extensions and their interactions can get confusing. And very expensive. The Personal Pass, the cheapest subscription, is not cheap.

Response from Awesome Motive

Hi Rick, thank you for such a thorough review and perspective in your feedback. We very much appreciate it!

Angelica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Building e-commerce for a Professional Photography Hi-Res Backgrounds and tutorials site

Reviewed on 2020/03/31

Pros

Integration with Wordpress, Dropbox. All Access opportunities. The developers are always adding new things. I appreciate that they are looking at how to service customers.

Cons

The shop setups aren't really that user friendly. Both for the administrator and for the customers. We've had to jerry-rig our site to work in the least difficult way for customers and we still encounter issues. Not having the ability to show categories, tags, or even have a search of the product has proven to be difficult to do. Also, I haven't found an easy way to set up coupons that allow for when you spend this amount of $$ you get this amount of a discount or even a buy one of this product get another of the same product free. Also, dropdowns to add products to the manual purchase on mobile-only show about 20 products. Makes it really difficult to do things while on the go. One other thing is that if we wanted to use our site to interface with clients that order prints, we wouldn't be able to use Easy Digital Downloads. We've had to use PhotoBiz instead.

Alternatives Considered

WooCommerce and Squarespace

Reasons for Switching to Easy Digital Downloads

We wanted to stay on the Wordpress platform and didn't like the options offered by WooCommerce.

Response from Awesome Motive

Hi Angelica, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Your detailed feedback is very helpful and we'll use it to make improvements.

Corrado
Corrado
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Worst Checkout Experience Ever

Reviewed on 2020/03/31

Pros

It is very stable and reliable in terms of license management and product delivery.

Cons

easy digital downloads is a software that lets you create and sell digital products but if you look at how the whole checkout experience is built and works from the customer point of view then you'll easily see that the makers totally forgot about the most important part the checkout experience.

On a scale from 1 to 10 the checkout experience is a 1 it's that bad.

Furthermore, no cross sells and upsells engine that works well enough so that it can be used and the product upgrade feature also is very low quality.

Not having the ability to design a great looking and highly converting checkout experience made us loose a lot of revenue over the years.

They practically forgot to build the most important part of the app.

Response from Awesome Motive

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed Corrado!

Samantha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Weigh the cost

Reviewed on 2020/04/06

Overall its a very niche and limited software addition. If you have an online website i wouldnt...

Overall its a very niche and limited software addition. If you have an online website i wouldnt recommend. The recurring prices are unnecessary. One time payment is fine. After that seems greedy. The software also allows for your system to be hacked which happened to me a few times. Come to find out it was in the plugins i was using. I liked it in the beginning. Became too costly, too limited and wasnt versatile enough for the new themes.

Pros

If you are using easy digital downloads then the easy setup is the best part.
Its a clean program.

Cons

Price, limited to Edd, recurring price, not a reasonable bundle price.

Alternatives Considered

WooCommerce

Reasons for Switching to Easy Digital Downloads

I left EDD and went to woocommerce. I can work my website with no yearly large recurring payments.

Response from Awesome Motive

Thank you for the feedback Samantha! Hopefully your new solution is working well for you! We're working hard every day to make Easy Digital Downloads better and your feedback helps.

Joe
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Couldn’t do it without EDD

Reviewed on 2020/03/31

I’ve relied on EDD for 6+ years and love it. It makes my store and software licensing possible....

I’ve relied on EDD for 6+ years and love it. It makes my store and software licensing possible. It’s that software licensing I really rely on.

Pros

EDD’a purchasing and licensing integration makes my online store and platform possible.

Cons

There are a few reporting, sorting and bulk selection options missing. A few too many obvious features need custom integration but the backend is simple enough a dev can bend it to their will.

Alternatives Considered

WooCommerce and Shopify

Reasons for Switching to Easy Digital Downloads

EDD is super easy to get up and running and has really good support. I’ve asked so many questions gotten so many useful answers.

Response from Awesome Motive

Hi Joe, thanks for writing a review. We appreciate your feedback, it seems much of your pain points will be addressed in EDD 3.0.

Showing 5 reviews of 110 Read all reviews

Easy Digital Downloads FAQs

Below are some frequently asked questions for Easy Digital Downloads.

Easy Digital Downloads offers the following pricing plans:

  • Starting from: US$199,00/year
  • Pricing model: Free Version, Subscription
  • Free Trial: Not Available

Premium addons can be purchased individually or as part of an Access Pass.

Easy Digital Downloads has the following typical customers:

11–50

Easy Digital Downloads supports the following languages:

English

Easy Digital Downloads supports the following devices:

Easy Digital Downloads integrates with the following applications:

Gravity Forms

Easy Digital Downloads offers the following support options:

Chat

Related categories

See all software categories found for Easy Digital Downloads.