TaxCloud

Cloud-based tax management and compliance tracking platform

About TaxCloud

TaxCloud is a cloud-based sales tax management and compliance tracking platform designed for online retailers. It offers sales tax calculation for any address in the United States as well as registration, filing, remittance, detailed reporting, and audit response services. It allows employees to generate tax reports, process payments, and configure workflows.

It provides a variety of features including email marketing, automated notifications, audit management, data import/export, returns management, and analytics. TaxCloud facilitates integration with various third-party applications such as BigCommerce, Bonanza, eBay, Etsy, Quickbooks, Shopify, Stripe, WooCommerce, and more.

Pricing starting from:

US$10,00/month

  • Free Version
  • Free Trial
  • Subscription

Top 5 alternatives to TaxCloud

Devices

Business size

S M L

Markets

United States

Supported Languages

English

Pricing starting from:

US$10,00/month

  • Free Version
  • Free Trial
  • Subscription

Top 5 alternatives to TaxCloud

Images

TaxCloud Software - 1
TaxCloud Software - 2
TaxCloud Software - 3
TaxCloud Software - 4
View 6 more
TaxCloud video
TaxCloud video
TaxCloud Software - 1 TaxCloud Software - 2 TaxCloud Software - 3 TaxCloud Software - 4

Features

Total features of TaxCloud: 25

  • API
  • Address Validation
  • Audit Management
  • Audit Trail
  • CRM
  • Compliance Management
  • Corporate/Business
  • Customer Accounts
  • Data Import/Export
  • Electronic Filing
  • Email Marketing
  • Exception Notification
  • Exemption Management
  • Inventory Management
  • Multi-Channel Marketing
  • Multi-Store
  • Order Management
  • Returns Management
  • Sales Tax Management
  • Shopping Cart
  • Tax Calculation
  • Tax Filing
  • Taxability Verification
  • Transaction Tracking
  • eCommerce Management

Alternatives

TaxJar

4,5
#1 Alternative to TaxCloud
TaxJar® focuses on solving a problem no one wants to deal with - sales tax. We passionately leverage technology and...

Avalara

4,2
#2 Alternative to TaxCloud
Avalara aims to help businesses get tax compliance right. Avalara customers face demanding tax obligations imposed by...

Marketing 360

4,6
#3 Alternative to TaxCloud
Marketing 360 is trusted by over 20,000 small businesses. Business owners use our business growth platform because the...

NetSuite

4,1
#4 Alternative to TaxCloud
NetSuite provides organisations with an integrated system of cloud applications that helps them run their business....

Reviews

Overall rating

2,7 /5
(40)
Value for Money
2,6/5
Features
2,9/5
Ease of Use
2,8/5
Customer Support
2,2/5

Already have TaxCloud?

Software buyers need your help! Product reviews help the rest of us make great decisions.

Write a Review!
Showing 5 reviews of 40
Cl G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Supper easy integration and amazing product compared to other services.

Reviewed on 2018/06/19

Extremely cost efficient scalable sales tax processing and reporting that eliminated all burdensome...

Extremely cost efficient scalable sales tax processing and reporting that eliminated all burdensome sales tax matters. Sales tax is now easy. By voluntarily signing up to remit sales taxes in SSUTA states my business is indemnified against audit risks in those states.

Pros

All sales tax functionality is simplified, and now is much more cost effective. The service has been completely re-engineered and is much improved. The new reporting and customer interface are superior to anything else on the market. I love not having to buy an expensive enterprise software solution. TaxCloud works seamlessly across multiple platforms and is designed to scale with my business needs. TaxCloud is a true very powerful cloud based system providing my business with a tremendous service that frees up valuable time and resources.

Cons

No real cons..at first customer service seems a concern. However, this is short lived once the immediate anxiety of employing a new service is overcome. I quickly realized that this is an efficient customer friendly self service platform, and after integrating the service most all customer service issues were unwarranted. Therefore, there was little need for me to actually request customer service. That said, this product is a tremendous value. I could pay more for a competing service with more immediate customer service, however there does not seem to be any advantage in doing so. Once up and running TaxCloud is seamless and needs no additional handholding, and their scalability, reporting and functionality is the best value out there.

Daniel I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Solid plugin with woocommerce

Reviewed on 2018/03/14

Pros

It was a bit difficult to setup, but once I got it going, it provides me with solid reporting every month.

Cons

It's a straightforward plugin as I use it with wordpress and woocommerce. Honestly, the biggest con is that the setup process wasn't easy. I also wish that I could download past invoices from the website, but currently it's only being emailed to me.

Response from FedTax

Hi Daniel - Thanks for the review! We just released our new user interface to our website. Hopefully, the set-up process is easier to navigate now.

Jeffrey K.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Slow/Poor Customer Support

Reviewed on 2018/05/30

Pros

We have liked how easy it is to calculate shipping in our WooCommerce store when their Simple Sales Tax plugin is not having compatibility issues.

Cons

Our organization has been using TaxCloud for tax calculations over the past few years in conjunction with the free Simple Sales Tax plugin for WordPress. The original developer of the plugin did a good job of keeping it up to date with the changes in WordPress and WooCommerce. Then TaxCloud acquired the plugin and now dealing with customer support for the plugin is a nightmare. As others have said, support typically takes over a week to respond to tickets, even urgent ones.

There was a recent software incompatibility with Simple Sales Tax and WooCommerce that took nearly two weeks to get addressed and resolved. The first person who replied, Stephen, obviously didn't read the ticket and provided a "solution" that was unrelated to the software plugin issue. The support staff later replied saying that he would provide an update once they had an action plan to fix the plugin issues but that reply never came. Eventually, they finally fixed the plugin issues but it simply took much longer than it should have.

They recently changed their prices for the monthly package (we pay the fee because we don't allow them to file our tax returns for us). With the price increase evidently came no improvement in customer service.

We're strongly considering switching to another tax services provider that has a better track record of actually helping customers, especially paying ones.

This review is not unfair and is an accurate representation of our experience with the company.

Response from FedTax

What Jeffrey indicates is accurate but has to be put into context. There was an issue with the SST plug-in caused by an poorly communicated update to the Woo platform which created the issue with the SST plug-in. In addition, we released our new UI and did a price change at the same time. This caused record ticket & call volume from our 1000's of clients which as a small company we needed to prioritize. Not using this an excuse but rather just sharing the reality of what happened. Our call volumes have returned to normal so response times are normalizing. I'd also point out that as the FREE and low cost provider in the marketplace we don't have the resources to pick-up every call or respond to email tickets as they come in. We apologize to Jeffrey for his experience and hope he will remain a TaxCloud customer.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

stay away from this company

Reviewed on 2021/11/09

Pros

nothing positive to say. they are the biggest mistake I've ever made for my small business startup.

Cons

they've had technical issues from their end, and despite admitting to it, its been over 1 year and i am still chasing after my refund. They charged over $300 within my first two months into launching my own business as a "late payment fee" eventhough there is nothing wrong with the credit card I've had on file...which suddenly they started charging $10 to this year without me signing off and agreeing to such thing. They are NOT free. I didn't pay a monthly fee last year and suddenly they claim "we sent communication about our policy changes, we now charge $10 a month". An email that most likely landed in junk email because i was complete unaware. I never approved or agreed. and i've barely made any sales due to covid to begin with!
This company has been nothing but a HUGE headache, i am so full of regret for ever signing up with them.
Waiting on a close to $400 refund...STAY AWAY FROM THEM!

Response from FedTax

We can't speak to the facts behind this review as no business name or name of the reviewer was provided. I'd urge the reviewer to call our customer support and ask to speak with Mark to resolve any open issues.

However, regarding the charges the person is referencing all I can say is that our pricing is transparently described at https://taxcloud.com/pricing. You will not find such transparency with our competitors. Regarding the "free" service offering mentioned, it ended on 12/21/20. There were multiple communications made to our clients prior to the change being made. The person is correct that there is now a minimum $10/month fee to keep an account open. Don't want to pay it, an account can easily be cancelled.

Andrew M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Simply helps to keep track of sales taxes for internet transactions.

Reviewed on 2019/02/05

TaxCloud seems to have been improved significantly with a better UI. It is much simpler to use. It...

TaxCloud seems to have been improved significantly with a better UI. It is much simpler to use. It saves a lot of time and effort, and is a necessary service to those of us growing online sales in multiple states.

Pros

The free version is very useful. I think many will upgrade to the full version in time. From what I can tell, it is the best value.

Cons

None really. Can't complain at a free service and it was easier to set up that I anticipated.

Showing 5 reviews of 40 Read all reviews

TaxCloud FAQs

Below are some frequently asked questions for TaxCloud.

TaxCloud offers the following pricing plans:

  • Starting from: US$10,00/month
  • Pricing model: Free Version, Subscription
  • Free Trial: Available

TaxCloud has two pricing options available: Enhanced Services - A state subsidized service option in our 25 member states. We give our state paid compensation back to our clients so we can be the most cost effective service in the marketplace. Corer Services - A highly flexible service that offers sales tax calculation and reporting. Pricing is metered based on the number of transactions you do in a month starting as low as $10/month.

TaxCloud has the following typical customers:

Self Employed, 2-10, 11-50, 51-200, 201-500, 501-1 000, 1 001+

TaxCloud supports the following languages:

English

TaxCloud supports the following devices:

TaxCloud integrates with the following applications:

Amazon Cloud Search, AmeriCommerce, BigCommerce, Magento Development, Odoo, Quickbooks Online, Shopify, Stripe, WooCommerce

TaxCloud offers the following support options:

Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support, Chat

Related categories

See all software categories found for TaxCloud.