TaxCloud

TaxCloud

Sales Tax at the Speed of Commerce

3/5 (32 reviews)

TaxCloud Overview

TaxCloud is a Cloud-based sales tax management & compliance service designed for online retailers. TaxCloud offers sales tax calculation for any address in the United States as well as registration, filing, remittance, detailed reporting and audit response services. We currently serve over 24,000 online sellers. TaxCloud has two pricing options available - A FREE service option which is funded by our state partners and a fee based service. Our mission is to make sales tax easy!

Pricing

Starting from
US$9,00/month
Pricing options
Free Trial
Free
Subscription
Value for money

Devices

Business size

S
M
L

Markets

United States

Supported Languages

English

TaxCloud Reviews

Overall rating
3/5
44% positive reviews
6
Excellent
8
Very good
5
Average
5
Poor
8
Terrible
Jeffrey K.

Slow/Poor Customer Support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We have liked how easy it is to calculate shipping in our WooCommerce store when their Simple Sales Tax plugin is not having compatibility issues.

Cons

Our organization has been using TaxCloud for tax calculations over the past few years in conjunction with the free Simple Sales Tax plugin for WordPress. The original developer of the plugin did a good job of keeping it up to date with the changes in WordPress and WooCommerce. Then TaxCloud acquired the plugin and now dealing with customer support for the plugin is a nightmare. As others have said, support typically takes over a week to respond to tickets, even urgent ones.

There was a recent software incompatibility with Simple Sales Tax and WooCommerce that took nearly two weeks to get addressed and resolved. The first person who replied, Stephen, obviously didn't read the ticket and provided a "solution" that was unrelated to the software plugin issue. The support staff later replied saying that he would provide an update once they had an action plan to fix the plugin issues but that reply never came. Eventually, they finally fixed the plugin issues but it simply took much longer than it should have.

They recently changed their prices for the monthly package (we pay the fee because we don't allow them to file our tax returns for us). With the price increase evidently came no improvement in customer service.

We're strongly considering switching to another tax services provider that has a better track record of actually helping customers, especially paying ones.

This review is not unfair and is an accurate representation of our experience with the company.

Response from FedTax

What Jeffrey indicates is accurate but has to be put into context. There was an issue with the SST plug-in caused by an poorly communicated update to the Woo platform which created the issue with the SST plug-in. In addition, we released our new UI and did a price change at the same time. This caused record ticket & call volume from our 1000's of clients which as a small company we needed to prioritize. Not using this an excuse but rather just sharing the reality of what happened. Our call volumes have returned to normal so response times are normalizing. I'd also point out that as the FREE and low cost provider in the marketplace we don't have the resources to pick-up every call or respond to email tickets as they come in. We apologize to Jeffrey for his experience and hope he will remain a TaxCloud customer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

0.0/10
Cl G.

Supper easy integration and amazing product compared to other services.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/19
Review Source: Capterra

Extremely cost efficient scalable sales tax processing and reporting that eliminated all burdensome sales tax matters. Sales tax is now easy. By voluntarily signing up to remit sales taxes in SSUTA states my business is indemnified against audit risks in those states.

Pros

All sales tax functionality is simplified, and now is much more cost effective. The service has been completely re-engineered and is much improved. The new reporting and customer interface are superior to anything else on the market. I love not having to buy an expensive enterprise software solution. TaxCloud works seamlessly across multiple platforms and is designed to scale with my business needs. TaxCloud is a true very powerful cloud based system providing my business with a tremendous service that frees up valuable time and resources.

Cons

No real cons..at first customer service seems a concern. However, this is short lived once the immediate anxiety of employing a new service is overcome. I quickly realized that this is an efficient customer friendly self service platform, and after integrating the service most all customer service issues were unwarranted. Therefore, there was little need for me to actually request customer service. That said, this product is a tremendous value. I could pay more for a competing service with more immediate customer service, however there does not seem to be any advantage in doing so. Once up and running TaxCloud is seamless and needs no additional handholding, and their scalability, reporting and functionality is the best value out there.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Larry M.

Horrible Support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to setup and use. Address lookup works most of the time.

Cons

We are being charged for duplicate transactions and cannot find a reason. The downloaded transaction history shows all transactions occurred at 4:00 AM so that was no help at all. A support ticket was created 4 months ago and still no answer. As a test, I created a test website, made one test transaction and immediately took the site down. There were no duplicate transactions from the test website that day however; the next day there was.

Response from FedTax

Our redundant API call policy is clearly outlined here: https://taxcloud.com/topics/Frequently%20Asked%20Questions/#Troubleshooting:tta360013700311 Redundant API calls are a problem as they hinder the performance of our platform unnecessarily and add to our technology infrastructure costs. We charge for redundant calls to change behavior, not make money. A decent developer should be able to look at your implementation and quickly fix the issue. Your charges for redundant API calls are in the single digit $'s per month. The reason you are not hearing back from support is that we can't fix this problem, but you can...and it is taking time away from more serious client issues.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

2.0/10
Brynn R.

Calcuates tax great - pray you dont need tech support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/26
Review Source: Capterra

I love the ease of which it works when it works. But when you do need help it is virtually impossible to receive it timely.

Pros

The ease of setting up an account and nexus.

Cons

The customer service is horrible. They have been saying since last summer that they are aware of the issue and are working to make it better but we still see that same lack of support. We have tried calling and contacting online but receive no response. The receptionist will not put you in touch with an actual human or escalate the message.

Response from FedTax

I connected with the reviewer on this feedback. It appears there was some communication issues between our receptionist and support team that delayed our initial response back to the reviewer. For this we apologize. After two requests, I have not been informed of the issue that has been out there since last summer. We have no record in our service ticketing system that an incident was opened last summer for this client.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

3.0/10
Verified Reviewer

NO CUSTOMER SERVICE

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/30
Review Source: GetApp

I have repeatedly been trying to get TaxCloud to call me and to remote in to fix the bug in the software. We keep setting up phone calls but TaxCloud never calls in! They are NOT leaving me a phone number to call them.

Pros

I like that TaxCloud handles my website's needs for different tax rates for NC customers.

Cons

There is a bug where MORE tax is being collected than it should!!!!

Response from FedTax

Please send me an email [email protected] and I will have someone reach out to you. It's unlikely we are collecting too much tax as we regularly get audited by state governments but we will certainly look into it for you. UPDATE 6/5/2019 - Upon investigation, this merchant is sending us shipping charges (even though there is no shipping being charged to their clients) that is creating a sales tax event on the shipping. This is not a bug, nor is more tax being collected than should be - TaxCloud is responding to the data we are sent with the proper sales tax treatment on shipping in NC. If there is no shipping, stop sending us shipping charges. This is a poor implementation in this merchant's cart /store that is erroneously being blamed on TaxCloud. The "No Customer Service" tag is silly as we have the record of interactions our support team has had with this merchant.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

2.0/10

TaxCloud Pricing

Starting from
US$9,00/month
Pricing options
Free Trial
Free
Subscription
Value for money

TaxCloud has two pricing options available:

Automated Compliance - A FREE service option in 24 member states which is funded by our state partners. All services are free in the member states while non-member states can be activated for a modest fee.

Selective Compliance - A highly flexible service that allows selecting services in an "a la carte" fashion. Pricing is tiered based on the number of transactions or API calls you do in a month starting as low as $9/month. TaxCloud offers 50% off our month to month pricing if a retailer pays us up front for a year.

All pricing can be found at https://taxcloud.com/pricing

TaxCloud Features

  • API
  • Auditing

  • Accounting Integration
  • Accounting Management
  • Activity Dashboard
  • Automatic Notifications
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • Compliance Management
  • Customizable Reporting
  • Data Import/Export
  • Electronic Payments
  • Expense Tracking
  • Financial Analysis
  • Invoice Management
  • Invoice Processing
  • Multi-Currency
  • Real Time Data
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Third Party Integration
  • Workflow Management

Additional information for TaxCloud

Key features of TaxCloud

  • Automatically files sales tax returns for 24 states
  • Calculates sales tax in real time for any location in the US
  • Manages sales tax exemption certificates
  • Monitors changes to tax rates
  • Monthly state-by-state reports on sales tax collected

Benefits

- Real time or batch sales tax calculation for every address in the US
- Filing & remittance services in all sales tax states
- Detailed reporting
- Audit response & indemnification
- A free, states paid service option in 24 member states

TaxCloud FAQs

Below are some frequently asked questions for TaxCloud.

Q. What type of pricing plans does TaxCloud offer?

TaxCloud offers the following pricing plans:

Starting from: US$9,00/month

Pricing model: Free, Subscription

Free Trial: Available

TaxCloud has two pricing options available:

Automated Compliance - A FREE service option in 24 member states which is funded by our state partners. All services are free in the member states while non-member states can be activated for a modest fee.

Selective Compliance - A highly flexible service that allows selecting services in an "a la carte" fashion. Pricing is tiered based on the number of transactions or API calls you do in a month starting as low as $9/month. TaxCloud offers 50% off our month to month pricing if a retailer pays us up front for a year.

All pricing can be found at https://taxcloud.com/pricing

Q. What are the main features of TaxCloud?

TaxCloud offers the following features:

  • Automatically files sales tax returns for 24 states
  • Calculates sales tax in real time for any location in the US
  • Manages sales tax exemption certificates
  • Monitors changes to tax rates
  • Monthly state-by-state reports on sales tax collected

Q. Who are the typical users of TaxCloud?

TaxCloud has the following typical customers:

Mid Size Business, Non Profit, Public Administrations, Small Business

Q. What languages does TaxCloud support?

TaxCloud supports the following languages:

English

Q. What type of pricing plans does TaxCloud offer?

TaxCloud has the following pricing plans:

Free, Subscription

Q. Does TaxCloud support mobile devices?

We do not have any information about what devices TaxCloud supports

Q. What other apps does TaxCloud integrate with?

TaxCloud integrates with the following applications:

3dcart, AccelGrid, Agiliron, AmeriCommerce, Braintree, Event Rental Systems, NebuCore, Shopify, TaxCloud, TaxCloud

Q. What level of support does TaxCloud offer?

TaxCloud offers the following support options:

FAQs, Knowledge Base, Online Support, Phone Support, Video Tutorials