Curve Dental

Curve Dental

Cloud Based Software for Dentistry

4.4/5 (153 reviews)

Curve Dental Overview

Curve Hero is the complete web-based dental software solution. A few more features include:

Imaging: Curve Hero doesn’t lock you into some proprietary imaging system you don’t want. Instead Curve works directly with a variety of leading sensors and also connects to many of the existing imaging systems.

Patient Education: Dental patient education software comes standard in Curve Hero. You don't get a sample video library like you find in other dental software; rather, you get access to every patient education video we've created—and it would take you hours to view all the videos back to back.

Reports: Curve Hero gives you key financial, clinical, and other reporting tools to help you stay on top of your practice and boost productivity.

Pricing

Starting from
N/A
Pricing options
Free Trial
Value for money

Devices

Business size

S
M
L

Markets

Canada, United States

Supported Languages

English

Curve Dental Reviews

Overall rating
4.4/5
86% positive reviews
95
Excellent
37
Very good
14
Average
4
Poor
3
Terrible
Edward S.

Three dental offices

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/04/14
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent. Curve is the best of the cloud. And the cloud is way better than any VPN type system and far superior to use and maintain and manipulate and backup than any internal network would be. As simple as a high speed internet connection, an unmanaged gigabyte switch and internet connections. Wireless works too, I just like the speed of most of the workstations in the operatories wired in. Less load on a wireless router in a big office. Curve took us through conversion from Dentrix, training of the staff and the practice manager and has been there through our inexperienced moments. The doctors didn't even train and they picked it right up. The software improves over time for the better and it was great to begin with.Curve Hero has been a great decision. I couldn't be happier.

Pros

Intuitive. Written with the end user in mind. The trusty "Sidekick" feature (get it? Hero...) on the right of the screen let's you quickly work through a patient. Once I was used to seeing between two offices from any location I was frustrated the third wasn't online yet. I could never go back. The combination of cloud management, lack of internal Network IT needs (an internet connection, Google Chrome, and Adobe Reader and Flash and you're there) and the user friendliness and cuteness of the software and I'm hooked. No bridge between most digital x-ray formats. We're using Scan-X and looking to upgrade to Plan Mecas CBCT ProMax Classic at all three locations.

Cons

There is a lag during the prescription writing portion of the "program." You have to wait a bit before it starts to respond. After that... Zoom. Also, if you need a new image taken you need to refresh charting and then go back to images. Sometimes, it doesn't like to let me modify images gamma, light, dark, inspect/zoom in. None of these are huge difficulties. I would not change companies.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Fredrick L.

Preventing the 50K Mistake

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/01
Review Source: Capterra

Each computer in the office is independent and isolated. They're "off the shelf" units and were purchased from Dell at extraordinarily reasonable amounts. No server, no contracted computer geek, no surprises. Most importantly, no added monthly maintenance fees. The support from Curve has been fabulous.
What's the worst that can happen? Well, the system has gone down.....wow....we kept doing dentistry. The internet failed (U-verse fiber optic).... wow ....we kept doing dentistry. There are a tremendous amount of people connected to Curve and AT&T. These companies will be doing everything humanly possible to get back up and running. It's their livelihoods. If (when) your server is hacked (oh, that couldn't happen to me! ..... yeah...think again) or when it fails the office geek has to repair or replace it. The time just starts to fly. So do the dollars. Your time is not the technicians time.
Bottom line: the software delivers all the needed features necessary to run a contemporary dental practice. It provides the necessary metrics easily. The folks at Curve are responsive to their customers needs and seem to be in a constant upgrade mode. If it's not yet available from them, they report that it is something they're thinking about. They deliver on those promises.
Financially, hardware is stock and minimalist. It can also be as advanced as available but the software works on it all. It integrates easily with all my digital add ons.
Monthly fees are reasonable when compared to the other products available. Most of all, the cost is cheaper then the monthly maintenance fees for the "big time all encompassing " software packages and the original outlay of 20+k for the software isn't necessary.
Every member of the team finds their own shortcuts/ techniques to move through the software. We had a very small learning curve at implementation and new employees grab it almost immediately.
The upgrade I await is the access to all of the patient records from my mobile devices. Currently I can access the schedule and patient information only. I look forward to being able to make appointments directly from my phone.
I recommend this system constantly. I've not been disappointed at any time since implementation three years ago.

Pros

Ease of integration and ease of use

Cons

Inability to access the actual product from my mobile devices. I want to be able to interact with the entire product from my mobile devices(iPad, iPhone)

Response from Curve Dental

A thousand thank-you's for your kind review, Dr. Lurie! We've noted your suggestions. Many of our customers see a savings in IT and HW costs, as you have. Best wishes!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Raquel C.

Depends on specialty of the office.

Reviewed on 2014/09/23
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It's so user-friendly and you can adjust settings so easy as well.

Cons

I think it's too easy to schedule appointments on top of each other. The billing is not easy to read, because it separates it by transaction, and then the transaction is no longer visable after it's paid. There is no way to select a procedure not to be billed to insurance in a billing transaction. You cannot transfer credits between family members in the same account. The tabs in the charting can be confusing as well. I think all existing, and current treatment plan should be together, not separated. You cannot keep track in the charting what was diagnosed when, because it deletes the date when the treatment is completed. There are too many placed where the fee schedule can be adjusted to allow for mistakes later. If the insurance is modified, the treatment plan has to be deleted and re-entered for the patient to be correct. I don't see a point in tags in the appointment when it doesn't enter the procedures in the appointment title. It seems like a lot of work to schedule an appointment, because you have too many options. The entry of birth dates is harder than it needs to be. Emails cannot be used in more than one person's profile. Cancelled claims should be able to be deleted from the system. It's confusing when auditing past due claims. There is no way to input how much maximum is left on a patient's insurance for treatment plan purposes. Treatment plans don't factor in secondary insurance coverage. Scanned documents should be able to be grouped in files and letters instead of making a separate entry for every page. Charting on the teeth is too sensitive.

Response from N/A

We appreciate Raquel's comments. She brings to light a number of topics we'd like to address.

- Scheduling Appointments. The flexibility of our scheduler does allow you to schedule on top of other appointments. Long-time customers have not found this to be a negative; however, we understand Raquel's concern and are taking steps to modify this functionality--quite soon, actually.
- Invoice Accounting vs {WHAT DTX AND ES USE}. Curve Dental uses invoice accounting, which has many advantages. Because most of the dental profession is using older management systems that display information in other ways, our new customers may find Curve Dental's accounting style a little different. Once proper training is completed our customers see the advantages of invoice accounting as it presents a more logical grouping of billing information. Specific to Raquel's comments, paid transactions are hidden after 30 days to make more efficient use of space, but with two clicks all transactions can be viewed.
- Billing to Insurance. If there's a particular procedure you would rather not bill to insurance, you simply omit that item in the insurance claim.
- Transferring Credits Between Family Members. If all family members share one responsible party, then yes, credit can be shared between family members. However, if the family members have different responsible parties, then one account would have to be refunded and the other credited, which can be done quickly.
- Displaying Existing and Current Treatment. Graphically, existing treatment and the current treatment plan can be viewed at the same time. Line-by-line details can be viewed for either existing procedures or planned procedures by clicking on the corresponding tabs in the chart.
- Diagnosis Date. If you're concerned about the date that a procedure was diagnosed, you can access a quick report to retrieve that information; it is not deleted.
- Fee Schedule Adjustments. Fee schedules can be assigned to a specific patient or when setting up an insurance plan (which determines how the insurance portion is calculated). When creating a treatment plan, you also have the option to select a different fee guide, but the default is the fee guide initially assigned to the patient.
- Modifying Insurance. Currently, you do not have to delete and re-enter a treatment plan if you need to change insurance information.
- Birth Date Format. We have received a few comments on how the birth date is entered (which is yyyy-mm-dd) and plan to allow our customers to adjust the format to one more customary to their area. Obviously a minor concern, but one that will be addressed.
- Unique e-Mail Addresses. For security purposes, Curve Dental does not allow an e-mail address to be used by more than one patient. Curve Dental's patient portal provides patients with access to account information, future appointments, and more. To protect this information, a unique e-mail address is required to access the data. Of course, the responsible party can access information for all members of the family.
- Deleting Cancelled Claims. In the interest of providing one more deterrent to fraud, we strongly believe that cancelled claims should be a permanent record in the patient's account. As a result the display of the patient's account may be a bit more busy, but not confusing.
- Entering Insurance Maximums and Factoring Secondary Insurance. Currently, Curve Dental does allow you to enter coverage used outside of the practice or software, helping our customers gain an accurate insurance estimate. And our software does indeed take into consideration secondary coverage when calculating the insurance portion.
- Scanned Documents. We have discussed ways to improve the organization of scanned documents and will make a change.
- Sensitive Charting. Curve Dental has two charting modes. One lets you drag the mouse over tooth surfaces to select the desired surface. The other mode requires you to enter the surfaces in a more old-fashioned style. Some may find one mode more preferable over the other.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Corey P.

Confident in Curve!!

Reviewed on 2016/11/16
Review Source: Capterra

Switching to Curve Hero from my old server based practice management software has proven to be one of the best decisions I could make. I was faced with ever increasing server issues and daily troubleshooting was causing me to feel more like an IT person learning on the job than a dentist on some days. Even hiring multiple IT gurus was a not a good use of my time or resources. Now that I have been with Curve for almost 4 years I can say it has done a lot more for me than solve IT headaches. It has opened opportunities for me as a dentist that I didn't know were possible. I have since merged my practice with another dentist and opened a second location. Curve's cloud-based software has allowed us to manage 2 locations. Curve has made it much easier to manage multiple providers and staff. All we need is an internet connection. It has allowed us to centralize many of our services. The new staff we have hired on have adapted quickly to Curve and love it's intuitive features. We spend less time training new employees on how to use the software. This year for the first time we had the opportunity to attend the Curve Summit. It was well worth the investment in time and money. It struck the right balance between fun and learning. It pumped up the team! What I was most impressed about was the ability to actually interact with the leadership and staff of Curve. At one point, we mentioned that we were developing ideas on centralized services for managing multiple practices. The next thing we knew we had a meeting set up with the executive leadership of the company. They genuinely listened to our ideas and asked us questions on how Curve could help fulfill some of our needs. It was evident to me that they cared about their customers by actually listening and implementing the things that practicing dentists want from their practice management software. I have never experienced anything like that meeting. I came away very impressed by their leadership, direction, and mission. Their platform is perfectly designed to continue to evolve with technology and implement improvements. They listen to their customers. They focus on what is important. They provide a great value for their customers in what they offer. I have used other practice management and imaging software programs. I am confident in my long-term partnership with Curve. This partnership will continue to give me opportunities to adapt to the changes that are occurring in dentistry today.

Response from Curve Dental

Thank you for your confidence, Dr. Plaster! We think we have a great thing going and it is a boost to see that our customers couldn't agree more. Hope to see you at the next Orange Summit. Best wishes!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Amy J.

Great Cloud-based Dental Software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2016/12/13
Review Source: Capterra

We purchased five standing offices. Each had a different dental software. We needed a product that would enable us to view all five schedules remotely, and Curve has been terrific. It has changed how we look at schedules and increased our efficiency and flexibility. All employees can check their upcoming day from the comfort of their own homes.
Training on the software is very good, and customer support is very responsive. Curve is always evolving, and the staff welcomes any and all suggestions.
Most features are very useful, and, once one knows how to maneuver, they make sense and are easy to use.
We plan to continue using Curve, and I have already recommended it to other dental offices.

Pros

I love being able to access all five office schedules at any time from any place where I have my laptop.

Cons

Most issues I have had have been MY user issues! I would LOVE to see a "daily diary" with chores like auto/property carriers use to remind adjusters of tasks. When I want to reschedule a cancellation or missed appt, I can't mark it appropriately AND put it in the queue as a quick reminder to call the patient. I know I can run a report, but I'd love to be able to use the queue as a daily diary as well.

Response from Curve Dental

Amy! Wow, your comments are much appreciated. I've copied your suggestions into a message to our development team--they are great! As you noted, when it comes to multiple locations Curve Dental can make your job much easier. With all the data at your fingertips in real time, that's gotta be helpful for a team member in your position. Good Neighbor Dental is an awesome organization. Best wishes!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Curve Dental Features

  • Charting
  • Claims Management

  • Activity Dashboard
  • Appointment Management
  • Automated Scheduling
  • Automatic Notifications
  • Automatic Reminders
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • Calendar Management
  • Client Portal
  • Compliance Management
  • Customizable Reporting
  • Customizable Templates
  • Document Storage
  • Electronic Signature Capture
  • HIPAA Compliance
  • Records Management
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Self Service Portal
  • Workflow Management

Additional information for Curve Dental

Key features of Curve Dental

  • Adjust patients' accounts
  • Appointment reminder list
  • Automated payments
  • Billing tools
  • Capture images directly to the cloud
  • Charts & Treatment Plans
  • Clinical Notes
  • Communication tools
  • Dental Charting and Perio Charting
  • Dental imaging technology
  • Dental patient education software
  • Financial, clinical, and other reporting tools
  • Imaging connected to existing systems
  • Insurance Claims Management
  • Patient scheduling
  • Smartphone & Tablet Features
  • Treatment Planning

Benefits

With Curve you can capture images directly to the cloud using almost any digital x-ray sensor or other compatible device.

Drag-and-drop simplicity makes our appointment book a no brainer. And the fact that it can be accessed anywhere, or even on your smartphone, makes it a favorite.

Clear and concise statements with an easy-to-find balance, payment instructions, and an appointment reminder list for members of the same family. Plus you can print statements with your logo, so you don’t have to buy expensive pre-printed forms.

Curve Dental FAQs

Below are some frequently asked questions for Curve Dental.

Q. What type of pricing plans does Curve Dental offer?

Curve Dental offers the following pricing plans:

Free Trial: Not Available

Q. What are the main features of Curve Dental?

Curve Dental offers the following features:

  • Adjust patients' accounts
  • Appointment reminder list
  • Automated payments
  • Billing tools
  • Capture images directly to the cloud
  • Charts & Treatment Plans
  • Clinical Notes
  • Communication tools
  • Dental Charting and Perio Charting
  • Dental imaging technology
  • Dental patient education software
  • Financial, clinical, and other reporting tools
  • Imaging connected to existing systems
  • Insurance Claims Management
  • Patient scheduling
  • Smartphone & Tablet Features
  • Treatment Planning

Q. Who are the typical users of Curve Dental?

Curve Dental has the following typical customers:

Mid Size Business, Small Business

Q. What languages does Curve Dental support?

Curve Dental supports the following languages:

English

Q. What type of pricing plans does Curve Dental offer?

We do not have any information about what Curve Dental pricing plans

Q. Does Curve Dental support mobile devices?

We do not have any information about what devices Curve Dental supports

Q. What other apps does Curve Dental integrate with?

Curve Dental integrates with the following applications:

BirdEye

Q. What level of support does Curve Dental offer?

Curve Dental offers the following support options:

Online Support, Phone Support