Actionstep

4.3 (130)
Write a Review!
Build your firm advantage with Actionstep.

About Actionstep

With Actionstep, midsize law firms get total control over their future success. Actionstep's comprehensive legal business management platform is built to adapt to a firm’s unique strengths and goals, empowering firms to modernize and build a firm advantage in the legal marketplace.

Actionstep's connected features like client intake, matter management, document management, time tracking, billing, accounting, and business reporting, equips over 38,000 users globally to delight clients, work more profitably, and confidently embrace the future.

Build your firm advantage with Actionstep. Visit www.actionstep.com to learn more.


Images

Actionstep Software - Actionstep matter overview
Actionstep Software - Actionstep setting tasks
Actionstep Software - Actionstep outlook add-in for O365
Actionstep Software - Actionstep iPhone Outlook Add-In
View 5 more
Actionstep video
Actionstep Software - Actionstep matter overview
Actionstep Software - Actionstep setting tasks
Actionstep Software - Actionstep outlook add-in for O365
Actionstep Software - Actionstep iPhone Outlook Add-In

Not sure about Actionstep? Compare with a popular alternative

Actionstep

4.3 (130)
VS.
Highly reviewed

Starting Price

US$89.00
month
US$3.67
month

Pricing Options

Free version
Free trial
Free version
Free trial

Features

72
115

Integrations

24
17

Ease of Use

3.9 (130)
4.5 (400)

Value for Money

4.0 (130)
4.5 (400)

Customer Service

3.9 (130)
4.4 (400)
Green rating bars show the winning product based on the average rating and number of reviews.

Alternatives

ActiveCollab

4.5
#1 Alternative to Actionstep
ActiveCollab is equipped with just the right set of features to keep you free from distractions and focused on work:...

Infinity Call Tracking

4.7
#2 Alternative to Actionstep
Infinity is a call intelligence solution that features online and offline call tracking. Integrated with multiple CRM...

Owl Practice

4.5
#3 Alternative to Actionstep
Owl Practice software is a management system for clinical practitioners. It is useful for organization practices, video...

PracticePanther Legal Software

4.7
#4 Alternative to Actionstep
Easy & secure law practice management software. Highest rated legal case management software on GetApp. Perfect for...

Reviews

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(130)
Value for Money
4.0/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
3.9/5
Customer Support
3.9/5

Already have Actionstep?

Software buyers need your help! Product reviews help the rest of us make great decisions.

Showing 5 reviews of 130
Peter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Peter Mericka - Long-term Actionstep User

Reviewed on 2021/10/06

After trying no less than 5 different software packages over the years I met [SENSITIVE CONTENT] at...

After trying no less than 5 different software packages over the years I met [SENSITIVE CONTENT] at a Legal IT conference and saw the potential of Actionstep. Over the years since I first signed up with Actionstep it has moved with the times, constantly improving but also constantly delivering the tools, staff satisfaction and safety that regulators, staff and most importantly clients have come to expect.

Pros

The ability to build my practice management system my way, using tools available within Actionstep and also through the integration of other applications.

Cons

The need to manually link incoming emails to matter files. I mention this because I came to love the ability to create a unique email address for each and every matter, but I do acknowledge that the need for higher levels of security is the reason that this feature had to be retired.

Response from Actionstep Software

Hi Peter,

Thank you for your fantastic review. Its great to hear after all these years Actionstep continues to grow with your firm.

As always, please do not hesitate to contact our customer success or support teams should you have any questions.

Thanks

Malinda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Lots to love about this program

Reviewed on 2017/03/06

Overall I recommend ActionStep to other law firms. It has vastly improved our office workflow, and...

Overall I recommend ActionStep to other law firms. It has vastly improved our office workflow, and the various customizable features enable our employees to address clients' needs more efficiently. The ActionStep support staff are accessible and responsive to any challenges we face, whether they involve addressing problems or learning how to implement new features.

What we love:
- Workflows that are customized for different types of cases
- Customized tasks that are automatically assigned to particular employees
- Case dashboard: the "one stop shop" for all basic info related to a case (employees involved, clients, other important players in the case, calendar appointments, notes, etc.)
- Contact records that exist independently of cases but may be linked to cases -- so updating a contact applies changes across the board
- Newsfeed-style case notes with tag options to identify notes as "important," "call," etc.
- Document folders with powerful search feature to easily locate documents
- Integration with MS Office (Word, Excel, Power Point, Outlook) that allows case data to be merged into documents and e-mails and allows users to assign e-mails to cases
- Ability to create letter and other document templates that pre-populate cases
- Document portal that allows clients and other parties to securely exchange documents with the firm
- Fantastic support staff and easy-to-follow tutorials

The most challenging aspect of ActionStep is the initial setup (hence my three-star rating for "ease of use"). There is no sugar-coating it: the downside of all those wonderful customizable features is that someone in your organization has to do all the customizing. It's a lengthy process, and the initial data migration can also be time-consuming, but the friendly support staff are available to assist throughout the process. For us the end result has been well worth the challenging setup process.

The ActionStep developers are constantly working on improvements to the program, including ways to make it integrate with other types of software and responding to users' suggestions. Occasionally the updates cause hiccups in the system, but they are typically short-lived. We genuinely appreciate the drive to improve the product and the responsiveness to users' wishes.

Pros

- Workflows that are customized for different types of cases
- Customized tasks that are automatically assigned to particular employees
- Case dashboard: the "one stop shop" for all basic info related to a case (employees involved, clients, other important players in the case, calendar appointments, notes, etc.)
- Contact records that exist independently of cases but may be linked to cases -- so updating a contact applies changes across the board
- Newsfeed-style case notes with tag options to identify notes as "important," "call," etc.
- Document folders with powerful search feature to easily locate documents
- Integration with MS Office (Word, Excel, Power Point, Outlook) that allows case data to be merged into documents and e-mails and allows users to assign e-mails to cases
- Ability to create letter and other document templates that pre-populate cases
- Document portal that allows clients and other parties to securely exchange documents with the firm
- Fantastic support staff and easy-to-follow tutorials

Cons

- Challenging initial setup (customization of features)
- Cumbersome process to unlock encrypted zip files after backup request
- Previous difficulty with calendar integration caused problems with client scheduling and has made us skittish about returning to use of the calendar, even though we see this as a high-value feature of ActionStep

Peter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Upsides: File Management Downsides: Software Bugs, Customer Service, Integrations, and Set-up...

Reviewed on 2022/03/03

Unfortunately, the customer service is not up to par of that of our previous software, expect to...

Unfortunately, the customer service is not up to par of that of our previous software, expect to receive a response from their support team 24-48 hours after you have contacted them. They have never answered the phone when I've called for immediate support, so I've stop trying this and just email even though i feel like for the amount we are paying we should be receiving quicker support.

Pros

We like the matter dashboard a lot and it's probably the firms favorite feature since all the most important information is readily available.

Cons

INTEGRATIONS:

If you're looking to switch to AS because of the integrations they offer make sure they actually work exactly how you intend them to.

Lawpay: If you use lawpay their integration is useless since it only grabs new charges and does not include any past due amounts. I brought this up because we really wanted this to function, but we were told they would not fix the issue.

InfoTrack - One of the reasons we switched to AS and they don't actually integrate in US, even though their website states they do...

Outlook - The bottom bar of the desktop version may not bill the correct amount. I asked for this to be fixed since it's easier to use this bar than the right bar they have, but it's been over 9 months...

BILLING:

If you close your billing at the end of the month be prepared to manually enter Trust payments to allocate the funds on the closing date and not for the next billing cycle, since the automated billing will automatically post these payments on the date you are running them, not on the date which you wish will be allocated. Another feature I have brought up, but essentially fell on deaf ears.

If you work with probate matters where you don't bill your time, so you input a $0 amount, and you have matters that weren't worked on for the month, you cannot filter out between the two, so you'll end up printing bills for all matters. This is something i asked to have fixed in July 2021 and have yet to hear back regarding a fix (3/3/22)

Response from Actionstep Software

Hi Peter,

Thank you for your feedback. I have passed this on to our product team.

I have also passed on your details to our Customer Success Manager who will reach out to you to find solutions for these pain points.

Thanks,
Matt

Carolyn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An all round good system and makes legal practice easier and more efficient

Reviewed on 2022/08/02

Overall an excellent experience

Overall an excellent experience

Pros

The fact that the product integrates both legal case management and business management in a single platform

Cons

The plugin with Office products can be problematic sometimes. The plug in drops off when the user logs into a different device

Alternatives Considered

LEAP

Reasons for Choosing Actionstep

To improve efficiency and functionality

Switched From

Reckon One

Reasons for Switching to Actionstep

Overall a better product and better pricing

Response from Actionstep Software

Hi Carolyn,

Thank you so much for such a positive review!

Great to hear you and your firm are seeing the benefits of our all-in-one solution!

Thanks

Arthur
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Need big improvement in billing system!!!

Reviewed on 2019/12/04

I used Actionstep in my previous company and it seems pretty good. However, after increasing the...

I used Actionstep in my previous company and it seems pretty good. However, after increasing the price, actionstep has not improved a lot and the billing system is still not work very good.

At the beginning I have asked for Actionstep partner for help. But they did not come back - so I set up the actionstep by myself. It seems some of the function cannot be fully utilised.

Pros

the display of the program is good and some of the support team is quite responsive

Cons

The invoice system is terrible as it is not able to add it back to the matter.

Further, the invoice system does not accept other currency billing method - this must be changed asap. Other CRM can amend the invoice on the matter file - not like actionstep need to download and upload the documents manually - that's ridiculous

Alternatives Considered

LEAP, Owl Practice and PracticeEvolve

Reasons for Switching to Actionstep

my previous exp.

Response from Actionstep Software

Hi Arthur

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, and we very sorry you haven't had a great experience.

We have made significant upgrades to our billing since this review and hope you have had the opportunity to try them. Additionally, we have recently released our Lawpay add-on which should help amend some of the issues raised here.

Addressing your questions around implementation, our support team is available to answer any queries you may have to make the most of our software - [email protected]

Thanks

Showing 5 reviews of 130 Read all reviews

Actionstep FAQs

Below are some frequently asked questions for Actionstep.

Actionstep offers the following pricing plans:

  • Starting from: US$89.00/month
  • Pricing model: Subscription
  • Free Trial: Not Available

Actionstep is offered across three pricing plans, outlined below. Express: $49 per user/per month billed annually Practice Pro: $89 per user/per month billed annually Practice Pro+ Accounting: $99 per user/per month billed annually

Actionstep has the following typical customers:

Self Employed, 2–10, 11–50, 51–200, 201–500

Actionstep supports the following languages:

English

Actionstep supports the following devices:

Android (Mobile), iPhone (Mobile), iPad (Mobile)

Actionstep integrates with the following applications:

Box, DocuSign, Dropbox Business, EffortlessLegal, Gmail, Google Drive, HotDocs, HubSpot CRM, InfoTrack, Josef, LawConnect, LawGro, LawPay, LawToolBox, Microsoft 365, NetDocuments, QuickBooks Online Advanced, Repsight, Smith.ai, Soluno, SpeechWrite 360, Vxt, Xero, Zapier

Actionstep offers the following support options:

Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support, Chat

Related categories

See all software categories found for Actionstep.